New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 11 12345678910 ... LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Halfling in the Playground

Default Things in RPGs that you used to like but don’t anymore

Obviously if you are new to rpgs this wouldn’t apply. I’ve been playing rpgs for over 40 years now and now I am looking back to things I enjoyed back in the day that I wouldn’t touch with a 10ft pole nowadays. Been there, done that, and I have too many T-shirts as it is.

The massive dungeon crawl: No way. If I have to go through a dungeon nowadays it better be something like 10 rooms, tops.

Detailed tactical combat with grids, miniatures, etc.: If I want tactical combat, I'll go play a board/war/computer game. It’s not that I have anything against tactical combat in the confines of an rpg. It is that board games and computer games deliver that experience in a way that is superior, in my opinion. Computer games handle the mechanical details, and bugs notwithstanding, this helps improve the flow of the game. In my experience, board games have tighter rules with fewer edge cases and exceptions, once again reducing (although not removing) the need to refer back to the rules.

The Endless Campaign: Yeah, no. Wrap it up at some point. I am fine with a series of short campaigns with the same characters, where you can technically play the same characters forever.

Zero to Hero, chump to god, etc.: It was ok for the first 40 or 50 times. Nowadays I am fine with chump to slightly more competent chump or just starting out as a demi-god.