New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Beguiler?

1. - Top - End - #1
    Halfling in the Playground

Planetar

Default Beguiler?

I just finished reading the beguiler section in PHII, and all I've got to say is WTF? They took a sorcerer, gave him D6 HD, tons of cool abilities, a wide selection of spells and tons of class skills. Did I miss something, or is this class insanely unbalanced?!

2. - Top - End - #2
    Ettin in the Playground

Default Re: Beguiler WTF?

I think the fact that just about all of their spells get Will saves is potentially a huge weakpoint, as is the fact that they mainly use Illusion and Enchantments (I'm new to D&D, and I'm playing one in a solo game, but I can't tell you if it's overpowered yet).
    Last edited by Tempest Fennac; 2008-01-28 at 01:49 PM.
    "It doesn't matter what you think I'm supposed to be, 'cause I myself know all too well." Line from "King of My World" by Saliva.
    Good itP 2009 winner,Cleric itP Winner.
    Taking Reiki requests. PM me for details.
    Spoiler
    Show

3. - Top - End - #3
    Titan in the Playground

Take a look again and try to figure out a way for a beguiler to be effective against an opponent who is immune to mind-affecting spells and/or various status effects. The beguiler's sneaky, sure, but they're not very good in the killin' things department. They do, however, make spectacular thieves and infiltrators.

4. - Top - End - #4
    Library Lovers Contest Winner

Quote Originally Posted by Fax_Celestis View Post
    Take a look again and try to figure out a way for a beguiler to be effective against an opponent who is immune to mind-affecting spells and/or various status effects.
    Well, UMD is a class skill...

My Homebrew
    Gronk by dallas-dakota

5. - Top - End - #5

Planetar

He can charm\ dominate other stuff to kill them.