New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    RedSorcererGirl

    Join Date
    May 2008

    Default Q: Drawing a weapon

    Is it possible to draw a weapon as a free action ( +1BAB ) as a part of 5-foot step and make a full attack the same round?

    The rules say anyone can draw a weapon as free action as a part of move action as long as his BAB is +1 or higher.

    5-foot step = move action (free) + drawing a weapon (free) then full attack.

    Or is it possible with Quick draw only? Or it is NOT possible at all.

    My reasoning is its possible beacuse youre a trained fighter. Why couldnt you draw your weapon while making 2 steps? Some of my friends disagree - so here ya go ppl. Final word is yours. Thnx.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Banned
     
    Mr. Friendly's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Q: Drawing a weapon

    By the book answer?

    No. You would need Quick Draw to do what you want.

    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    Draw or Sheathe a Weapon
    Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

    If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Banned
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Koth
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Q: Drawing a weapon

    No. A 5-foot step/adjustment is not a Move Action (as in Full, Standard, Move, Swift, Free, Immediate), even though it is an action that involves a move.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    RedSorcererGirl

    Join Date
    May 2008

    Default Re: Q: Drawing a weapon

    Thnx alot. Dammit. I was wrong. Dammit! AAAAAAAAARRRRGH *head explosion*

    PS: Also by that logic, could you draw a weapon as a part of a charge or it must be a normal move action?
    Last edited by trashcan01; 2008-05-19 at 06:54 AM.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Q: Drawing a weapon

    Just says move action, a charge is a limited move action, but still a move action.

    Logically, if you have the ability to draw something in the amount of time it takes to make a 30 foot run/walk, why could you not in the time it takes to make a 40 foot charge?

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Titan in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Imagination Land
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Q: Drawing a weapon

    Again, by RAW, a charge is NOT a Move Action, even though it technically involves moving.

    Quote Originally Posted by SRD - Special Attacks
    Charge
    Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and attack during the action.
    *emphasis added
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

    Watch me draw and swear at video games.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Banned
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Koth
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Q: Drawing a weapon

    Well, looking at the text, it's not about Move Actions, but about a "regular move" - don't imagine a charge counts as a regular move, though.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Q: Drawing a weapon

    Even though I know this, I still draw a weapon during a 5ft step or a charge as a free action because I justify it as being part of a MOVE, not part of a move action.

    And this just occured to me: If you stand still,draw a weapon as a move action, can you draw a second weapon as a free action part of the first move action ?
    **** Photobucket ; RIP avatars

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Thanatos 51-50's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    I'm a Protagonist!
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Q: Drawing a weapon

    Quote Originally Posted by bayar View Post
    And this just occured to me: If you stand still,draw a weapon as a move action, can you draw a second weapon as a free action part of the first move action ?
    We allknow D&D is silly, but its not THAT silly. I believe somewhere or another, this is given the offical green-light by the rulebooks. I'm too lazy to look for it, though.
    NaNoWriMo Beat Me
    Red and the Phasmavore by LCP

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Lord Lorac Silvanos's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IPR Violation
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Q: Drawing a weapon

    Quote Originally Posted by bayar View Post
    And this just occured to me: If you stand still,draw a weapon as a move action, can you draw a second weapon as a free action part of the first move action ?
    There is no need for that. Drawing two weapons can be done as a move action if you have the TWF feat.

    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.
    All Yours Popcorn are belongs to me truly,
    LLS

    ___________________________________
    Avatar by Ink.

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Banned
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Koth
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Q: Drawing a weapon

    Quote Originally Posted by bayar View Post
    And this just occured to me: If you stand still,draw a weapon as a move action, can you draw a second weapon as a free action part of the first move action ?
    It's not a "regular move" though.

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Q: Drawing a weapon

    It's a regular move not a move action. As in, that thing that let's you move a distance up to your speed barring obstacles. It helps conceptually if you picture a character performing the action and thinking about why they let you do it as part of a move in the first place.

    You can draw two weapons at the same time as part of a single move if you have two weapon fighting, btw.
    Last edited by ericgrau; 2008-05-20 at 02:56 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •