Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007

    Default Domain slots & Metamagic

    Can metamagic'd domain spells be prepared in higher level domain slots?
    For instance, could I prepare a maximized cure light wounds in my 4th level domain slot if I had the healing domain (pelor knows why...)?

    A RAW ruling would be nice, or at least as close as possible to a RAW interpretation.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Library Lovers Contest Winner
     
    Duke of URL's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Domain slots & Metamagic

    I asked this (for a spontaneous arcane caster caster using Arcane Disciple, so YMMV) in the RAW Q&A thread. The answer I got was that applying metamagic uses up the slot, not the spell, so you could conceivably use the same spell twice, at different spell levels due to metamagic. In any case, the RAW is not particularly clear (i.e., it ignores the possibility entirely), and this seems to be just the most reasonable interpretation.

    I would guess, by extension, that you could also prepare any lower-level domain spell in a higher-level domain slot instead of the regular domain spell there.


    My Homebrew
    Gronk by dallas-dakota

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •