Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    NecromancerGuy

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Adventuring. Really!
    Gender
    Male

    Default Two weird questions

    1) What happens to a DR/magic in an antimagic area?

    2) Can you counterspell Dispel magic?
    "78% of DM's started their first campaign in a tavern. If you're one of the 22% that didn't, copy and paste this into your signature."

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Manchester NH
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two weird questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Albonor View Post
    1) What happens to a DR/magic in an antimagic area?

    2) Can you counterspell Dispel magic?

    1. it kinda becomes like DR/-

    2. Yes with another dispel magic at that.
    When the end comes i shall remember you.

    I sorry i fail Englimish...(appologise for Spelling/Grammer Errors) Please don't correct my spelling or grammer eaither.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    SolithKnightGuy

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere you're not
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two weird questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Albonor View Post
    1) What happens to a DR/magic in an antimagic area?

    2) Can you counterspell Dispel magic?
    1) depends on whether it's a Su or an Ex ability, if it's Su it stops working if it's an Ex you just gained a practical dr/- ability(as long as your in AMF so it's not really IMBA).



    2) with another dispel magic you can counter dispel magic in most cases.
    Schrödinger cat? Schrödinger wizard? Schrödinger monk?
    What's next? Schrödinger equation? HΨ=EΨ? Seriously WTF?


    The best summary of this board I've seen so far:
    Quote Originally Posted by Frigs View Post
    Giantitp: The only place you can turn a discussion on D&D Economics into an argument about toxic potatoes.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Sstoopidtallkid's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Texas...for now
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two weird questions

    In that case, I have another simple question. Does the Q&A by RAW need to be bolded or something? It's not exactly hidden now, but...
    [/sarcasm]
    FAQ is not RAW!
    Avatar by the incredible CrimsonAngel.
    Saph:It's surprising how many problems can be solved by one druid spell combined with enough aggression.
    I play primarily 3.5 D&D. Most of my advice will be based off of this. If my advice doesn't apply, specify a version in your post.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    SolithKnightGuy

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere you're not
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two weird questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Sstoopidtallkid View Post
    In that case, I have another simple question. Does the Q&A by RAW need to be bolded or something? It's not exactly hidden now, but...
    I don't think it would help, if people miss it ATM they will probably miss it no matter what.
    Schrödinger cat? Schrödinger wizard? Schrödinger monk?
    What's next? Schrödinger equation? HΨ=EΨ? Seriously WTF?


    The best summary of this board I've seen so far:
    Quote Originally Posted by Frigs View Post
    Giantitp: The only place you can turn a discussion on D&D Economics into an argument about toxic potatoes.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Copacetic's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two weird questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Fenix_of_Doom View Post
    I don't think it would help, if people miss it ATM they will probably miss it no matter what.
    True dat.


    Also, .
    Not forgetting Yldenfrei and the wonderful avatar she made.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Frosty's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default Re: Two weird questions

    If you use Greater Dispel Magic to counter a Dispel Magic, do you need to make a caster level check?
    NS2...it's time to evolve again.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Surgebinder in the Playground Moderator
     
    Douglas's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Mountain View, CA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two weird questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Frosty View Post
    If you use Greater Dispel Magic to counter a Dispel Magic, do you need to make a caster level check?
    Yes. However similar the spells may be they are not actually the same spell, so the normal automatic counterspell clause does not apply.
    Like 4X (aka Civilization-like) gaming? Know programming? Interested in game development? Take a look.

    Avatar by Ceika.

    Archives:
    Spoiler
    Show
    Saberhagen's Twelve Swords, some homebrew artifacts for 3.5 (please comment)
    Isstinen Tonche for ECL 74 playtesting.
    Team Solars: Powergaming beyond your wildest imagining, without infinite loops or epic. Yes, the DM asked for it.
    Arcane Swordsage: Making it actually work (homebrew)

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Rad's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two weird questions

    Yes, neither spell say that they automatically counter spells of lower level when used as counterspells.
    Knowledge, logic, reason, and common sense serve better than a dozen rule books.
    E. G. Gygax

    Lawful member of the Hinjo fanclub
    Treegrappler of the Durkon fanclub

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The Land of Cleves
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two weird questions

    DR/magic or DR/alignment is always a (su) ability, so it doesn't work in an antimagic field. DR based on weapon type or damage type is usually (ex), so it does still work, but cold iron also still works in antimagic, so you can still bypass it.
    Time travels in divers paces with divers persons.
    As You Like It, III:ii:328

    Chronos's Unalliterative Skillmonkey Guide
    Current Homebrew: 5th edition psionics

  11. - Top - End - #11

    Default Re: Two weird questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Chronos View Post
    DR/magic or DR/alignment is always a (su) ability, so it doesn't work in an antimagic field. DR based on weapon type or damage type is usually (ex), so it does still work, but cold iron also still works in antimagic, so you can still bypass it.
    Ah, damn. You beat me to it. I was gonna quote the RC myself.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •