Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Bull rush + charge

    Here's the link to bullrush to save veryone sometime:
    http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/spe...s.htm#bullRush

    Now my question is:

    When you make a bullrush (no improved bullrush feat) as part of a charge what happens?

    - You move, attack with whatever weapon you have, then the bullrush effect kicks in

    OR

    - You move and perform a bullrush, without an attack.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Orc in the Playground
     
    infinitypanda's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bull rush + charge

    I would say you probably just make the bull rush without the attack.
    Characters:
    Spoiler
    Show

    The Colony character: Derek Johnson (retired)
    2e anybody? character: Maksil (retired)

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Temp.'s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2008

    Default Re: Bull rush + charge

    The Bull Rush is your attack at the end of a charge. So the second one.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bull rush + charge

    You can make a bull rush as a standard action (an attack) or as part of a charge.
    As opposed to:
    As a melee attack, you may attempt to disarm your opponent.
    or
    You can try to trip an opponent as an unarmed melee attack.
    So say you have 3 atatcks from high bab and you're makign a full attack. You could make one of those a normal attack, another a trip and yet another a disarm. You couldn't make a bullrush and then make your additional 2 attacks.

    So I think we can agree that bullruhes don't follow the same rules as the other "special attacks".

    Also, and quoting someone else:
    the attack is part of an ordinary charge and it's not explicitly excluded [when bull rushing].

    this is kinda weird...

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    AslanCross's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Metro Manila, Philippines
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bull rush + charge

    A lot of the RAW is pretty weird, but in this case I think it's pretty clear: Trip and Disarm are considered attacks (and as such can be done several times with a full-round action as BAB allows), while the Bull Rush can only be done as a standard action or part of a charge. Bull Rush is more akin to casting a spell performed on its own as a standard action.

    I think it makes sense, because knocking weapons out of multiple attackers' hands is easier to do than applying enough force to a person to push him/her back 5 feet in the same span of time.


    Eberron Red Hand of Doom Campaign Journal. NOW COMPLETE!
    Sakuya Izayoi avatar by Mr. Saturn. Caella sig by Neoseph.

    "I dunno, you just gave me the image of a nerd flying slow motion over a coffee table towards another nerd, dual wielding massive books. It was awesome." -- Marriclay

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    DwarfClericGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2007

    Default Re: Bull rush + charge

    I was playing D&D tonight (tuesday night) and I looked up the bullrush manuver because I wanted to make one. If you bullrush wile charging you get a +2 bonus to your apposed strength roll for pushing. Just like you would get a +2 to hit for hitting with a weapon. Thats it. Maybe because of what ever situation you may be in at the time might modify that more.

    Oh and the defender gets an attack of opprotunety. (edit)
    Last edited by Hawriel; 2008-10-15 at 01:16 AM.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Temp.'s Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2008

    Default Re: Bull rush + charge

    Quote Originally Posted by arkol
    this is kinda weird...
    Oh, you're right. My Knockback Fighter threw my rule-recollection powers off a little.

    I think the rules are just badly worded; the Bull Rush is supposed to take the place of the attack, whether it's technically an attack or not.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bull rush + charge

    If you mean you want to make a charge, hitting your enemy for damage, AND do a bull rush, you can't. That would be 2 separate actions, and you can normally do only one in a charge.
    There's some feats and magic itens that do allow that, though, and usually you can just push them back 1 or 2 squares.

    Member of the Hinjo fan club. Go Hinjo!
    "In Soviet Russia, the Darkness attacks you."
    "Rogues not only have a lot more skill points, but sneak attack is so good it hurts..."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •