Results 1 to 30 of 619
Thread: Rules Questions
-
2006-08-14, 10:52 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Rules Questions
We hope the rules are clear, concise and complete, but there will inevitably be some questions. Use this topic to ask away, and between Rich and me, we'll get the questions answered. The answers will eventually become the basis for a FAQ.
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-08-15, 12:36 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jul 2006
- Location
- Billings, Montana
Re: Rules Questions
So... does this mean the rules are posted somewhere?
-
2006-08-15, 08:35 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2004
- Location
- Massachusetts
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Justin_Miller
Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please. - Mark Twain
-
2006-08-15, 09:07 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Nope, the rules aren't posted yet. However, 300ish people out there have the game after GenCon.
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-08-15, 09:05 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Two questions, and forgive me as I'm at work and don't have the cards in front of me:
1.) One of Durkon's Schticks is missing it's win result. It is the one with a blindfolded, drunk Thor throwing lightnign bolts. In our game we assumed it was 1 wound, but clarificationw ould be nice.
2.) If you use the Screw This! card that allows you to negate abilities, how does this work for Leaders? Is the +1 battle size gone the entire time, or will a player add a monster after this turn?
I think that's all we've got for right now, enjoying the game otherwise!
-
2006-08-15, 11:58 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Video
Originally Posted by Video
The Leader ablility says that the Battle Size is +1, meaning that the room gets one more monster played in it than would normally be played. 'If I Forgot They Could Do That' is played on the turn that the Leader card was put into play, then the battle size is reduced accordingly (give the extra card(s) back to the person who laid them until the battle size is correct. The battle size is locked after player begins battling the monster. It cannot be changed on that turn, nor on future turns.
Thinking about it, there's probably more I can say about the Leader ability, but it's late and that's a discussion for another day.
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-08-16, 01:47 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Thanks for the answer, that's how we played both of the cards, so good to see we did it right.
I'll be sure to post up any more questions :)
-
2006-08-16, 07:47 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Got another:
Is loot with the OotS emblam considered loot that is "drooled over" for all players (aka - Can two players pass something back and forth like Dragon Horde to continually give each other +4 bonuses)? Does it count for loot for schtick trade-ins and Xykon's lair entry?
Thanks again :)
-
2006-08-17, 07:52 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Can you please explain how to use Elan's Schtick "Poorly Planned Illusion"? I'm confused as to whether the creature dropps teh phat lewts or not. What leads me to this confusion is the use of the word "defeated" in the effects text.
Thanks.
-
2006-08-18, 09:26 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Can you give more than one loot per encounter to have more than one person help you per encounter (or give more than one loot to the same person to just increase their bonus)? If there are two monsters in the room and you use a loot to have a person help you with the first one, do you still get that bonus for the second one?
-
2006-08-18, 04:17 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2006
- Location
- Houston
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Phantom
If loot was already dropped in the room as a result of a previous battle, that loot will now be left unguarded in the room. At this point, since Elan is responsible for clearing the room of the last monster, he would have the option of picking up 2 loot (the same as when someone kills the last monster in a room).
Use of the term "defeated" seems appropriate since Elan is indeed successful in his battle roll and is therefore able to inflict his will upon the monsters by forcing them to move to an adjacent room.
-
2006-08-18, 04:24 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2006
- Location
- Houston
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Video
Yes. Two players can pass an item back and forth between themselves. This is not limited to loot containing the wild card icon. Take a loot that has 1 Roy and 1 V face for example. The players playing those two characters could also exchange that loot back and forth.
Yes. You can use loot containing the OOTS emblem just like you would any other loot. Each OOTS emblem always counts as one face.
-
2006-08-18, 04:32 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2006
- Location
- Houston
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by ElderGias
The only limitation is that in PvP battles, an assisting player can only help one of the two players in the battle. You can't assist both sides.
Assistance is only good for a single battle (ie. a single die roll). If you decide to attack the next monster in the stack you have to offer new loot in order to gain assistance.
-
2006-08-19, 02:03 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2006
- Location
- Indianapolis
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
1) How many Bragging Points is the defeat of Xykon worth? Page 27 specifies 5, but page 29 specifies 2*lvl.
2) Do the monster cards in the Xykon Deck have the red X symbol? Page 27 states that they do not, but ....
-
2006-08-20, 12:03 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
I have another question:
Roy has a Shtick that lets him flip another other person's Shtick. However, it does not specifiy when on the card I he can do this. Can I do it after someone has paid loot to another person to get them to help? If so, this Shtick seems unbalanced because I could make people not only lose combat but pay loot for no benefit.
-
2006-08-20, 03:27 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
First, a big Thank You to Craig (Krago) for fielding some of these questions. Craig was one of the primary playtesters for the game and also the hatcher of many of the game's cooler ideas. Those of you at GenCon might have met Craig giving demos of the game.
Originally Posted by Argus
We need to talk about whether monsters on the Xykon level provide XP. We talked about this at length, and thought we'd come to a conclusion, but unfortunately the final result was confusion on this point in the rules.
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-08-20, 03:30 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by ElderGias
The intent of this shtick (Party Leader Veto) was for it to be used during Roy's turn. It should therefore include the text "At the start of your turn..."
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-08-20, 05:32 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2006
- Location
- Indianapolis
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
In a collapsing dungeon, the rule about removing a room with any players still in it seems odd.
You may not remove a room with any players still in it unless there are no rooms without players in them remaining on the lowest floor of the dungeon, or unless the only room without players in it is the room with the stairs up.
For that matter, if a floor has more than one set of stairs leading down to it, it seems that it would be difficult to remove a room once that floor is reduced to the rooms below and between the stairs.
-
2006-08-20, 06:27 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Argus
The rules say that you can only remove rooms from the left or the right, so removing the Chasm of Unnecessary Cliffs or the Dungeon Corridor would not be an option. Removing a room from the middle might cut off a character's 'escape route', and it therefore illegal.
Note too that there may sometimes be more than a single room on a level with stairs. This is fine - continue removing rooms from either the right or the left, but leave one set of stairs on the level to escape from.
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-08-20, 11:44 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2006
- Location
- Indianapolis
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Okay, and to make sure I understand the bit about the left edge or right edge:
Assume that the first level had eight rooms labelled A-H, it had stairs going down from 1B and 1G, and the second level ended up with two disconnected sections explored: A-C and F-H. Would A, C, F, and H all be permissible for removal as long as they aren't occupied by players? (Note that allowing just A or H might lead to a problem once those two are gone.)
-
2006-08-20, 11:55 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2005
Re: Rules Questions
- The "I Forgot They Could Do That" Screw This! Card has already been mentioned. Can it negate a support ability?
(example: Xykon gets an 'Assist' Support from every Goblin and Undead on his floor, giving him +2 A/D for each such monster on his floor - which can climb up pretty high, since he has Horde as well. Can the Screw This! card negate that whole bonus?)
- Roy's Fearless Leader Schtick lets him, whenever he helps in a battle, heal 1 wound or unflip one flipped schtick at the end of the battle. Is that on him, the player he helped, or either?
-
2006-08-21, 09:03 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
- Milwaukee, WI
Re: Rules Questions
Well, I picked up a copy of the game at GenCon, and got a chance to play it with 4 other friends yesterday.
Firstly, we started off with the simplest setting, which stated a ~4 hour game. Taking into account learning how to play, and all, I was thinking maybe 5 hours. We wound up playing for 7.5 hours before finally finishing the game. And this is with only one room on lvl 3...
The one rules question I have (other than those already directly answered), is the wording of Elan's Poorly Planned Illusion. It states in the results that player 'MAY' move a monster to an adjacent room. We all took that to mean that it was an optional effect, and that the Elan player could either defeat the monster or move the monster.
Based on an earlier answer, I'm guessing this was incorrect? If so I would suggest a change of the wording on those cards, or an errata at least.\"Help Wanted: Telepath, You know where to apply!\"
-
2006-08-22, 06:53 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Moebius
Originally Posted by Moebius
-
2006-08-22, 07:03 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by red_eagle123
Why he would choose to use the shtick and not take advantage of its movement capabilities is up to the player; I can think of several scenarios. For example, you might want to move Monster A to another dungeon floor (if stairs are present) to weaken a Support-using Monster B for your Attack on your next turn. So you might choose to move Monster A, and not Monster B. Remember that PPI is an area effect, so you can pick and choose which monsters you move and where.
The important point is, you CANNOT cause a Wound with a Battle Shtick unless it specifically says it can cause a Wound. PPI doesn't say that, so it can't be used to kill monsters.
So the card is technically correct as-is, but it is definitely one for the FAQ, as on the surface, it could seem confusing.
-
2006-08-22, 05:39 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2005
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by The Giant
Another question: Monsters with the Flying ability can only be battled with a Shtick with Range > 0. Now, if the player is in the same room with the Flying monster, is it still considered a Range 0 attack for other purposes? (example: Can Haley Sneak Attack flying monsters?)
-
2006-08-22, 09:19 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2006
- Location
- Indianapolis
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Moebius
You may use shticks with a Range greater than 0 (often abbreviated "Range > 0") against a foe even while in the same room with that foe.
You NEVER make a Ranged Attack at a foe at Range 0.
And Sneak Attack isn't a Battle Shtick, so Flying doesn't interfere with it.
-
2006-08-23, 12:42 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2006
- Location
- Houston
Re: Rules Questions
One more example regarding flying monsters and range:
If Belkar is in a battle with a flying creature, he could use his "Twin Daggers of Doom" shtick coupled with his "Leaping Attack" shtick to combat this creature.
By default, the "Twin Daggers of Doom" shtick only has a range of 0, but when combined with the "Leaping Attack" shtick, Belkar's "Twin Daggers of Doom" gains a +1 to its range. This allows Belkar to attack a flying creature when standing in the same room with it.
-
2006-08-25, 10:22 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Questions:
In the rules it says that when two players battle, the defending player gets to offer loot for help to one player first, then the attacker and back and forth. Can the defending player offer one loot to a person, then after the attacker offers loot to another person, offer more loot to the first person they gave loot to?
Can the defender (or attacker) offer multiple loots at the same time to the same person?
Haley's Schtick that allows her to look through the loot pile and choose which loots to take seems oddly worded. It says if there are one or more loots in the room she may do this, however it also implies that if there is a stack of only traps then a trap must be spung. However, the rules suggest that a player can choose not to take loot in the room after beating monsters. If you use this Schtick, do you have to take one or two loots from the room, or can you choose to take no loot? If you have to take loot than what is the point of specifically saying that you can use the card if there is one loot in the room?
The rules say that you cannot give an NPC a loot to help you if that loot is drooled over by a current player in the game. What if the loot is drooled over by me and an NPC, can I still not give the NPC the loot? The rules also indicate that I cannot trade a loot away that I drool over, which might make my last question moot. However, I bring this up because in your FAQ you say that a player can give loot to another player even if the player giving it away would drool over it.
The Schitck rules say that after you turn in monsters with enough XP for a new Schtick you take three from the top and choose one, while putting the remaining two at the bottom of the deck. Does that mean that you cannot shuffle the deck after you did this, since it seems the remaining two are supposed to be at the bottom?
What happens if people use up all of the dungeon room tiles? Lets say people just arent able to find the stares down for a while on botht he first and second floors. And now all the dungeon tile shave been used, but they havent reached the third floor yet. What do you do when you move to a new room or do find the stares to the third floor? Should there be a maximum floor size to keep this from being a problem?Last edited by ElderGias; 2016-04-04 at 02:26 PM.
-
2006-08-25, 02:08 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Another question:
The "Screw This" that lets me pick up all of the loot in the room after I defeat the last monster could be used in conjunction with Haley's Schitck that lets her choose which loot she takes, right? Then one could look through all the loot in the room an only take what they want?
-
2006-08-25, 06:21 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2006
- Location
- Indianapolis
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Elven Senses... Tingling!
Since stairs are found on a low roll, would someone really want to use this as printed?