Results 301 to 330 of 619
Thread: Rules Questions
-
2007-04-01, 08:57 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
- North Dallas,TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
well, yes it would kick in, though I don't think the goblin teenagers have the range to use outsmart back on V, since monsters without enough range to reach you can not use there offensive abilities to counter you. So normally, if the monster has enough range it would work, but I believe goblin teenagers have no range so it would not...I think
Last edited by Kumquat; 2007-04-02 at 12:55 PM.
"Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer
I'm whitey, and I appologize!
-
2007-04-02, 06:18 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2004
- Location
- Belgium, Europe
-
2007-04-02, 02:54 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
- North Dallas,TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Corrected! (like bam or biff in the old batman shows, only without me getting beaten up)
"Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer
I'm whitey, and I appologize!
-
2007-04-02, 03:35 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Thanks for the answer guys. I still want to read through the archive here, but I had another question. If Belkar has two Halfling Rage shticks out, can he use both in a single battle? If so, does he lose 0, 1, or 2 wounds?
-
2007-04-02, 05:10 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
- North Dallas,TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
he can indeed use both, and would only take one damage. In essence it would go like this:
1)Belkar flips the first rage, gains +3 on attack or defence, and this rage is supported by the second copy, so he does not take a wound at the end of the turn.
2)Belkar then flips the second rage, gains another +3 on attack or defence and as he has no additional schticks to support this one, he takes the wound at the end of the turn.
(ooooh, colours)
"Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer
I'm whitey, and I appologize!
-
2007-04-02, 06:48 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
- Location
- Ohio
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I'm sure this has been posted, or is just common knowledge, but there seems to be an arguement between our group whether or not you can use the same Shtick (such as Elan's Rapier) more than once in a single Battle Stack.
In other words, I use the rapier to fend off a kobold, and then use the same rapier shtick to fend off a ogre underneath him.
The argument has come up over the phrase "Select a new battle shtick" when describing proceeding past the first opponent.
Thanks for the help.Believer of Smashdor
"You and all those other mental wimps deserve to die, isn't that right, MISTER THREE-FOURTEEN"
~Mortimer McMire
-
2007-04-02, 11:32 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2004
- Location
- Belgium, Europe
-
2007-04-03, 12:00 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2007
Re: Rules Questions
I bought the game recently and I'm loving it.
I'd just like to ask for the ruling for ranged attacks against creatures with bloodlust to be reiterated. I've pretty much read every post in this thread and it kinda seems like there was a little bit of conflicting advice given with regards to this.
I'd like to know, specifically, which of the following is true:
1a) If monsters don't have enough range to reach ranged attackers, they do indeed "draw" instead of "win". (Therefore, any victory that doesn't have some kind of effect listed is considered a draw.)
1b) Range just prevents the "win" from doing damage. It doesn't become a draw, it's still a damageless win. (Therefore, unless it specifically uses the word draw in some ruling (as to shtickless fighting or a shtick that draws), it just doesn't do any damage. Monsters don't "fight shtickless" as they have no shticks, just stats.)
2a) A "draw" here turns into a "win" via bloodlust, causing damage in spite of the range. (So when the attack equals the defense, it is a draw and bloodlust turns it into a win causing damage.)
2b) A "draw" here turns into a "win" via bloodlust, but doesn't cause damage due to the range. (So when the attack equals the defense, it is a draw which is turned into a win, but the range prevents the win from causing damage.)
Hope to hear from ya soon,
Theli
-
2007-04-03, 11:07 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Last edited by apegamer; 2007-04-06 at 08:01 AM.
Owner of APE Games.
-
2007-04-04, 06:00 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Thanks for the quick response.
So there's nothing to fear from range-less bloodlust... Cool.
-
2007-04-04, 03:55 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2007
- Location
- New Jersey, USA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I have not yet played, but I have a quick question.
The "Screw This!" card "Solo Challenge" it says:
"If the player already requested assistance, that request is canceled and the offered Loot is kept."
My question is, kept by whom? The player who is battling or the player who was offered the Loot?
I'm guessing that because loot is technically not given until after the battle that it means the player who is battling keeps the Loot, but I am unsure.
If it means the other way then holding the card until after loot is offered would be a good way to really mess with the player.
-One WolfEntropy Rules!!
-
2007-04-04, 11:21 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
I have a few questions:
What happens if I equip enough loot to enter xykon's lair, then unequip it? I figure that I can stay in the lair, but if I leave, I have to re-equip myself before entering again. This matters because I might need to trade one of the loot I had equipped for assistance once I'm in the lair.
Also, I think this has been asked before but I couldn't find where, if I ask Elan for assistance with 3 Sorceror's Fruit Pies (1 Elan face), and he has one Bard Song, how much of a bonus do I recieve? +7 (6 for loot and +1 for the song) or +9 (6 for the loot and +3 for the song for each loot)
-
2007-04-05, 12:31 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2004
- Location
- Belgium, Europe
Re: Rules Questions
For the same reason (i.e., loot isn't given until after combat), I would say the battling player keeps the loot.
This would seem to be correct. The only place I can find in the rules where equiped loot is checked, is upon entering Xykon's lair. Nothing in the rulebook seems to imply you must leave the lair if you no longer meet the loot requirement.
Of course, it might be nice for the more PvP-oriented characters to be able to force other characters out of the lair.
I seem to remember the Bard Song bonus applies only once for each combat, not once for each loot card. So, you would get the +7 bonus.
If you're into D&D, think of the bard song bonus as a morale bonus to your attack or defense score...multiple instances of the same bonus won't stack...
Enaloindir
-
2007-04-06, 01:14 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
- North Dallas,TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
for support purposes:
-Yes you can stay in the layer after losing loot, as stated by the fourth bullet under "Loot and Schtick Requirements" on page 27.
-The bard song question was indeed asked (by me as a matter of fact) and the answer, which Enaloindir has correct, can be found in the FAQ or page 6 of this thread
As I randomly skim the rules I find the example on page 18 which states that even at a range bloodlust still wins from the snakedragons, and The Thing With The Eyes gets to injure V at a range even though it was a draw originally. I assume this is a special situation for ranged bloodlust because of the area of effect stuff.Last edited by Kumquat; 2007-04-06 at 01:23 AM.
"Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer
I'm whitey, and I appologize!
-
2007-04-06, 08:02 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Owner of APE Games.
-
2007-04-06, 10:58 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2007
- Location
- New Jersey, USA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I could be wrong, but I took that example to be the reason why the "monsters" (plural) won the battle instead of a draw.
Because Dragon Snakes was the monster card which had the higher defense value that card is used to determine the outcome.
"Bloodlust" caused the otherwise draw to be a win.
But the damage came from That thing with the Eyes, causing 1 wound because it has sufficient range. (The example says the monsters win, but only list V as losing "1 wound".) Dragon Snakes did not cause any damage.
I believed that the wound would not have been taken if Dragon Snakes did not have the Bloodlust ability, because although That thing with the Eyes has sufficient range it was not used to determine the outcome.
Am I totally off base? (Note: I still have not played yet, just read the rules to death. Going to play Saturday, and want to get it right)
-One WolfEntropy Rules!!
-
2007-04-06, 12:18 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Yeah. It was "That thing with the Eyes" that caused the damage in that instance. And that monster doesn't have bloodlust.
This brings up another question. If you do a ranged attack with an AOE and it affects multiple defenders, all of which have range to counter...if you fail to win then do you take a wound from each monster with range to hit you?
- Theli
-
2007-04-06, 02:39 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
- North Dallas,TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
ok, lets see if I can do this...
-If you attack at a range you can only be hurt or negatively affected by a monster with enough range to target you back.
-Bloodlust does not negatively affect you, it just changes the win/lose condition, and so has infinite range.
-Thus if a monster in a group has bloodlust and something else has range, then the battle can be won using bloodlust so the other monsters can affect you.
as per the 9th bullet under "Area Effect Schticks" (page 18) "if you lose...lose 1 wound (not 1 wound per targeted monster)"Last edited by Kumquat; 2007-04-06 at 02:40 PM.
"Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer
I'm whitey, and I appologize!
-
2007-04-06, 05:01 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
About the Emergency Exit room: It states that the stairs can not be used when fleeing the dungeon. I understand they can't be used when you've taken 4 wounds, but can they be used when the dungeon is collapsing? One of my roommates thinks that that also counts as "fleeing the dungeon".
-
2007-04-21, 07:00 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2007
Re: Rules Questions
here are some questions:
1) Can I decide on my turn I want to "stay": not moving, but not resting? if so, how many loot can I pick up?
2) Can I search for stairs after I lose a battle? (assuming I don't flee)
3) Durkon moves into Xykon's Lair and faces Xykon himself, and a lot of other undeads. Can Durkon successfully Turn Undead, and after that continue attacking/defending against the weakened Xykon with his other shticks?
-
2007-04-22, 01:07 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
- North Dallas,TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I can answer that!
1) yes, you can stay without resting, but you can only pick up one loot for the turn as picking up loot beyond the first is a bonus for something else always and you can only pick up loot at the begining or end of your turn, not both.
2) In the page 9 side bar about searching for the stairs it says that you can attempt to find stairs in any room where there are no monsters, so if you lose a battle to monsters then there will still be monsters in the room and so you may not search for stairs. If, however, you lose a PVP battle in a room with no monsters, then yes, you may search for the stairs assuming that the battle did not immediately end your turn.
3) Yes, Durkon can turn the undead from under Xykon. However, a little searching has me finding that on page five of this thread it was said that when Haley Swiped something it did not remove the top monster from the stack, so she could not continue to battle. I assume this would also work the same way with turn undead, though I can't find it spelled out specifically anywhere. So I would say no, you can not continue to beat up Xykon after rekilling his undead from under him."Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer
I'm whitey, and I appologize!
-
2007-04-22, 04:26 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- May 2005
- Location
- Appalachian Mountains
Re: Rules Questions
This also applies to dealing with Xykon. Can you use Elan’s Poorly Planned Illusion to move in a low-power support stealer into Xykon’s room to reduce Xykon’s defense and then follow up with more Area Effect shticks to either weed out Xykon’s supporters or to take Xykon himself out?Aratos Tell
HP:53/53 AC:19,FlatFooted:16,Touch:13
Active Effects: Speak w/Animals
Spells Prepared: Cure Minor Wounds*4, Flare, Calm Animals, Charm Animal, Cure Light Wounds, Animal Messenger, Flaming Sphere, Lesser Restoration, Hold Animal, Cure Mod. Wounds*2, Speak w/Plants
Megiddo
HP:26/26 PP: 40/40 AC:14,FlatFooted:13,Touch:13
Active Effects:
Spells Prepared: Light*2, Burning Hands*2, Protection f/Evil, Magic Missile, Shocking Grasp, See Invis., Acid Arrow, Scorching Ray*2
-
2007-04-22, 05:31 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
- England
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I agree with you but for a different reason. The Turn Undead card is an area effect shtick so by the last point on page 18 the combat stops after the shtick is resolved.
I know that you can target all the undead under Xykon with that trick however it still feels wrong. I can't see the logic that allows the thing with eyes (that has enchanted) to act as the defence score for the monsters (against a fireball if it has the highest defence) whilst Xykon's ability to avoid be turned doesn't allow Xykon (as an undead) to represent the monsters.Attempting to say controversial things that everyone will agree with.
-
2007-04-25, 07:09 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2007
- Location
- michgan
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
what's the point of having a monster with high defense!!?!?!? you just attack it! on nthe other hand you HAVE 2 defend the first turn so there's a point in monsters with high attack. really
-
2007-04-26, 01:20 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2005
- Location
- Toronto, ON
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Something about Haley has been bugging me.... Her Longbow and Sneak Attack seem backwards. Her Longbow increases her defense and range, and her sneak attack increases her Attack at range 0. This seems counter intuitive, since you cannot make ranged defenses (unless against the Surprise Screw This card), and you really don't want to attack from melee with Haley, the whole point of her is attacking from range...
I was figuring what should happen is Longbow boost increases attack +2 and Range while Sneak attack boosts defense by +1 (since they still end up with +5/+5 at the end).
This just seems to make more sense considering how her moves are used and how she is expected to be played...Sneak
010000010110110001101100001000000101100101101
111011101010111001000100000010000100110000101
110011011001010010000001000001011100100110010
100100000010000100110010101101100011011110110
111001100111001000000101010001101111001000000
100110101100101
-
2007-04-26, 05:14 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Location
- Dublin, Ireland
Re: Rules Questions
You're question is a bit hard to understand: but what the hell. On your first battle you have to defend, but on subsequent ones you can choose to attack or defend. In this case its a matter of balancing your attack/defense stats against its attack/defense stats...
so the point of having monsters with high defense is so that players might choose to defend against it during a battle, if that player had a weak attack score.
-
2007-04-26, 08:32 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2005
- Location
- Toronto, ON
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Fortunately monsters with obscenly high defense tend to also have hide... Also the other reason they have high defense is that if you just had combat and lost, then when you start your next turn you decide to try and kill it again, now you HAVE to attack since you are battling before moving.Sneak
010000010110110001101100001000000101100101101
111011101010111001000100000010000100110000101
110011011001010010000001000001011100100110010
100100000010000100110010101101100011011110110
111001100111001000000101010001101111001000000
100110101100101
-
2007-04-29, 01:06 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- May 2005
- Location
- Appalachian Mountains
Re: Rules Questions
Something about Haley has been bugging me.... Her Longbow and Sneak Attack seem backwards. Her Longbow increases her defense and range, and her sneak attack increases her Attack at range 0. This seems counter intuitive, since you cannot make ranged defenses (unless against the Surprise Screw This card), and you really don't want to attack from melee with Haley, the whole point of her is attacking from range...
I was figuring what should happen is Longbow boost increases attack +2 and Range while Sneak attack boosts defense by +1 (since they still end up with +5/+5 at the end).
This just seems to make more sense considering how her moves are used and how she is expected to be played...
I played a Roy vs. Haley game Friday and the end result was that Haley had more of ROY's loot than Roy did. Roy couldn't even get to Xykon's lair.
Not to mention that thematically Sneak Attack ought to be, you know, an attack. I kinda wonder why you get any defense bonus from sneak attack at all, since defending implies the other guy is attacking (and would thus have inititiative).Aratos Tell
HP:53/53 AC:19,FlatFooted:16,Touch:13
Active Effects: Speak w/Animals
Spells Prepared: Cure Minor Wounds*4, Flare, Calm Animals, Charm Animal, Cure Light Wounds, Animal Messenger, Flaming Sphere, Lesser Restoration, Hold Animal, Cure Mod. Wounds*2, Speak w/Plants
Megiddo
HP:26/26 PP: 40/40 AC:14,FlatFooted:13,Touch:13
Active Effects:
Spells Prepared: Light*2, Burning Hands*2, Protection f/Evil, Magic Missile, Shocking Grasp, See Invis., Acid Arrow, Scorching Ray*2
-
2007-04-29, 04:01 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2005
- Location
- Toronto, ON
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Haley has a bow, and even in the instructions it talks about her major advantage being that she can attack from range. Unfortunately the longbow boost seems to think otherwise.
I the defense bonus being that she stole initiative from the enemy (ie the comic with Trigak... it tries to surprise her, elan, and belkar, but she steal initiative and sneak-attacks.... twice....). I think that sort of action works hand-in-hand with defense stat, not attack stat.Sneak
010000010110110001101100001000000101100101101
111011101010111001000100000010000100110000101
110011011001010010000001000001011100100110010
100100000010000100110010101101100011011110110
111001100111001000000101010001101111001000000
100110101100101
-
2007-04-29, 05:32 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2007