Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Page 13 of 21 FirstFirst ... 3456789101112131415161718192021 LastLast
Results 361 to 390 of 619

Thread: Rules Questions

  1. - Top - End - #361
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    DwarfClericGuy

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Question Re: Rules Questions

    Okay, not a rules question exactly, but what use is V's "Buff spell" shtick? Seems like you can only use it on another player, only when aiding them and you don't even get anything in return.
    Any strategies for using this un-V-like extra effort?

  2. - Top - End - #362
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by SKarious View Post
    Okay, not a rules question exactly, but what use is V's "Buff spell" shtick? Seems like you can only use it on another player, only when aiding them and you don't even get anything in return.
    Any strategies for using this un-V-like extra effort?
    It's Karma-riffic! Really - there are things in the game that don't directly benefit you. Plus, I don't think it's quite right to say that V doesn't perform selfless acts for the good of the party.
    Owner of APE Games.

  3. - Top - End - #363
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    DwarfClericGuy

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Oh, thank you. I get it now.
    Increasing goodwill between the players is always good. Especially for V.
    Speaking of V, another question about area attacks: do I get to apply my bonuses vs ALL types of creatures caught in the blast?

    example: I'm fireballing a room with an undead and a dragon, suppose the undead is "on top" and has a higher defese, so he's defending.
    1) If I have the "cleverness" loot (+2 vs. dragons), do I add it to my roll?
    2) How about if I also have a "magical garlic press" (+2 vs. undead) do I add +2? +4?

  4. - Top - End - #364
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by SKarious View Post
    Oh, thank you. I get it now.
    Increasing goodwill between the players is always good. Especially for V.
    Speaking of V, another question about area attacks: do I get to apply my bonuses vs ALL types of creatures caught in the blast?

    example: I'm fireballing a room with an undead and a dragon, suppose the undead is "on top" and has a higher defese, so he's defending.
    1) If I have the "cleverness" loot (+2 vs. dragons), do I add it to my roll?
    2) How about if I also have a "magical garlic press" (+2 vs. undead) do I add +2? +4?
    This is actually addressed in the FAQ. Okay, I need to post the latest version of the FAQ, but here's the clip...

    Q: If I battle with an Area Effect shtick against a group of monsters
    containing more than one monster type, and I have a shtick that
    provides a bonus to my Attack for monsters of one of those types,
    can I add that bonus to my battle roll?
    A: Yes. For example, if you use Fireball to Attack a Dragon and a Goblin
    while you have a Loot that provides +2 Attack against Goblins, you
    add +2 to your Attack Roll.

    So you'd get the +4 to your roll with both your bonuses.
    Owner of APE Games.

  5. - Top - End - #365
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    DwarfBarbarianGuy

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by The Giant View Post
    You may immediately select another available battle shtick, even though you're technically past Phase One. Only if you have no other battle shticks must you battle with no shtick.
    How can you have a shtickless ranged attack? What is the range on a shtickless range attack?

    I would think, once the Dun dun DUN! prevented the leaping attack, if you could not fall back on another ranged shtick (i.e., Verbal Abuse), then you simply don't attack, and your turn is wasted (by the effective application of a Screw This! card).
    Last edited by Leeroy_Jenkins; 2007-05-30 at 01:35 AM.

  6. - Top - End - #366
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Totally Guy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    England
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Haley's Disarm trap shtick, is it aided by other bits that help against traps such as "the stick" and the good reflexes shtick?
    Attempting to say controversial things that everyone will agree with.

  7. - Top - End - #367
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I have a couple of questions about the Safe Haven room.
    • Is the Safe Haven immune from starting new battles every time someone enters it (and no players or monsters are present), or only when it is first discovered?
    • After you discover the Safe Haven, can you go on to discover another new room on the same turn? The exploration rules on page 8 say no, but the Endgame example on page 28 says yes.

  8. - Top - End - #368
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Glug View Post
    Haley's Disarm trap shtick, is it aided by other bits that help against traps such as "the stick" and the good reflexes shtick?
    If you find other bonuses that aid in Disarm then they'd add to the +4 bonus that Haley gets with Disarm Trap. Good Reflexes adds to the Evade, not the Disarm, and so wouldn't count.
    Owner of APE Games.

  9. - Top - End - #369
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by prj View Post
    I have a couple of questions about the Safe Haven room.
    • Is the Safe Haven immune from starting new battles every time someone enters it (and no players or monsters are present), or only when it is first discovered?
    • After you discover the Safe Haven, can you go on to discover another new room on the same turn? The exploration rules on page 8 say no, but the Endgame example on page 28 says yes.
    Battles are never triggered in the Safe Haven - no matter how many times you go back to rest.

    The example on page 28 is incorrect. Your stop movement when you enter a new room.
    Owner of APE Games.

  10. - Top - End - #370
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I have a silly rules question.... well two silly rules questions.
    1. What happens when you use PPI on a monster, but there are no adjacent explored rooms (i.e. the first room on the first floor)?
    2. Can you use "scream like a girl" on yourself in battle to assist yourself?

  11. - Top - End - #371
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by The Giant View Post
    Since Swipe doesn't move the top Monster, you can't get to the lower Monsters, and you can't battle the same Monster twice.
    Why can't you battle the same monster twice? (Well, I guess it's because you say so , but is that spelled out in the rules anywhere?) Does this also mean that using Turn Undead or Poorly Planned Illusion against Xykon can only weaken Xykon for the next player, and that the player using this shtick won't have a shot at defeating Xykon in a second battle on the same turn? (Likewise for Poorly Planned Illusion in any other battle, if Elan happens to choose not to move the top monster.)

    Also, can Roy use Charge when entering an unexplored space, or only when entering a pre-existing empty room?

  12. - Top - End - #372
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    DwarfClericGuy

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by mcnathan80 View Post
    I have a silly rules question.... well two silly rules questions.
    1. What happens when you use PPI on a monster, but there are no adjacent explored rooms (i.e. the first room on the first floor)?
    2. Can you use "scream like a girl" on yourself in battle to assist yourself?
    As I see it:

    1) Very unlikely to happen. But even if it does, I think the card says you may move a monster, not that you must move it. So ,You can decide the monster stays, and you still "won" the battle.

    2) "Scream" says "assist", and you can't assist yourself in battle so no.
    (of course you can use it on another player and choose yourself as the helper)

    Quote Originally Posted by prj
    Also, can Roy use Charge when entering an unexplored space, or only when entering a pre-existing empty room?
    Yes, definitely. As soon as you move explore the room and place a card, it's considered an "empty room", because no monsters were in it.
    I believe there's even an example of this situation in the rulebook, where Roy reveals Xykon and uses Charge to finish the battle before Belkar gets the chance.
    Last edited by SKarious; 2007-06-23 at 06:55 PM.

  13. - Top - End - #373
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    DwarfBarbarianGuy

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by SKarious View Post
    Very unlikely to happen. But even if it does, I think the card says you may move a monster, not that you must move it. So ,You can decide the monster stays, and you still "won" the battle.
    You can also move monsters up and down stairs, so there will always be at least one previously explored room, either directly adjacent or via a stairway.

  14. - Top - End - #374
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Daemon

    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Timing Issues

    Generally Shticks fall into 2 categories, Battle Shticks, and everything else.

    Some of those are constant passive effects, some are flipping cards that can do things.

    Generally speaking, for those non-battle flipping shticks when can they be used.
    This was partly covered in regards to Durkon's healing (whenever). But Roy's Party Leader and Haley's Secon in Command have been errata-ed to be usable only at the beginning of their turn (balance issues). Is it safe to assume the rest of the shticks are whenever effects?

    Similarly, when can items be discarded. Some get shticks, some unflip shticks, some heal, but I couldn't find anything that said when you could actually discard them.

    Thanks,
    Craig

  15. - Top - End - #375
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Roy's Great Cleavage says it increases his attack/defense for each monster that is defeated and saved on the same turn - is this meant to exclude monsters like the Cowardly Kobold that have no X's, and so aren't saved?

  16. - Top - End - #376
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by prj View Post
    Roy's Great Cleavage says it increases his attack/defense for each monster that is defeated and saved on the same turn - is this meant to exclude monsters like the Cowardly Kobold that have no X's, and so aren't saved?
    Yes, it is meant to exclude these.
    Owner of APE Games.

  17. - Top - End - #377
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    The other day we ran into a situation: Durkon ended his turn (moved, battled, exchange schticks, etc) but never announced "I am done". Roy immediately played "Internal monologue" on Haley. But Haley argued that Durkon hadn't "officially" ended his turn and that he was actually waiting for Durkon to finish to play "Surprise!". And here is where the argument started. Is it legal for Haley to play "Surprise!" after "Internal monologue" has been played on her??

    -Haley argues that there is a "start of turn phase" and that since Durkon hadn't explicitly said "I am done", she didn't consider her turn started. And that it would be unfair to lose the opportunity to play "surprise!" just because Roy was "faster".
    -Durkon agrees that it was evident that his turn was over so it was already Haley's turn. But he also thinks that it is ok for Haley to play "Surprise!" even when "internal monologue " was played on her.
    -Roy argues that since he played "internal monologue" on Haley, Haley's turn was over and therefore it wouldn't be legal for her to play "Surprise!".

    What would be the right course of action in this case?
    Thank you

  18. - Top - End - #378
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I think that one is literally as simple as whoever got there first.
    Wushu Open Reloaded
    Actual Play: The Shadow of the Sun (Acrozatarim's WFRP campaign) as Pawel Hals and Mass: the Effecting - Transcendence as Russell Ortiz.
    Now running: Tyche's Favourites, a historical ACKS campaign set around Massalia 300BC.
    In Sanity We Trust Productions - our podcasting site where you can hear our dulcet tones, updated almost every week.

  19. - Top - End - #379
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by mmm View Post
    The other day we ran into a situation: Durkon ended his turn (moved, battled, exchange schticks, etc) but never announced "I am done". Roy immediately played "Internal monologue" on Haley. But Haley argued that Durkon hadn't "officially" ended his turn and that he was actually waiting for Durkon to finish to play "Surprise!". And here is where the argument started. Is it legal for Haley to play "Surprise!" after "Internal monologue" has been played on her??

    -Haley argues that there is a "start of turn phase" and that since Durkon hadn't explicitly said "I am done", she didn't consider her turn started. And that it would be unfair to lose the opportunity to play "surprise!" just because Roy was "faster".
    -Durkon agrees that it was evident that his turn was over so it was already Haley's turn. But he also thinks that it is ok for Haley to play "Surprise!" even when "internal monologue " was played on her.
    -Roy argues that since he played "internal monologue" on Haley, Haley's turn was over and therefore it wouldn't be legal for her to play "Surprise!".

    What would be the right course of action in this case?
    Thank you
    The problem here isn't that it was ambiguous when the beginning of Haley's turn is. Even if Durkon would have announced that his turn was over, then it would have been possible for Roy and Haley to play cards to play cards simultaneously at the start of Haley's turn, which would lead to the same problem.

    In cases where 2 or more Screw This! cards that can be played at the same time (i.e "at the start of a turn") then all effects are resolved, in order, starting with the active player.

    So, Haley's Surprise would go off and then Internal Monologue would take effect.

    If someone plays more than one card, then all of those cards are resolved in the order chosen by the person playing the cards.

    Note that this answer may change depending on the results of consultation with Rich and Craig.
    Owner of APE Games.

  20. - Top - End - #380
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    ElfPirate

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Roy Cleave Schtick. Can Roy use his Great sword to kill the first monster on the stack and then switch to his magic schtick and still use his cleave schtick to get the bonuses on subsequent monsters in the stack?

  21. - Top - End - #381
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesgrasso View Post
    Roy Cleave Schtick. Can Roy use his Great sword to kill the first monster on the stack and then switch to his magic schtick and still use his cleave schtick to get the bonuses on subsequent monsters in the stack?
    The intent is for Great Cleavage to only be used with Greenhilt Sword. This also means that if Roy somehow manages to defeat a monster with a magic shtick that it wouldn't add to the Great Cleavage bonus.
    Owner of APE Games.

  22. - Top - End - #382
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Mar 2005

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by apegamer View Post
    The intent is for Great Cleavage to only be used with Greenhilt Sword. This also means that if Roy somehow manages to defeat a monster with a magic shtick that it wouldn't add to the Great Cleavage bonus.
    Really? We haven't played it that way... it's just funny to think of Roy cleaving with a badger.

    An unrelated question: If you make a Ranged Attack on another player, and win, do you get to take a Loot from them? (And do they get one of yours if you lose?) The FAQ seems to indicate that you have to be at Range 0, but I can't find anything saying that in the rulebook. They're not really 'dropping' the loot the way a monster would, are they?

  23. - Top - End - #383
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2007

    Thumbs up Re: Rules Questions

    To Whom it may concern:

    I have a question and it might be simple to answer but me and my brothers play order of the stick board game and came accross a problem. Last night we were playing and my brother rested and picked up 2 loot cards but one was a trap and he lost to the trap and it said that he lost a turn. Play resumed and it came to his turn to lose a turn but does that mean he is still sleeping or just awake but can't do anything because I wanted to attack but we didn't know if he still got penalized for being asleep. Thank you for the responce.

  24. - Top - End - #384
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Hmmm. this is really getting into houserule/personal preference for me, but how about this:

    on page 20 of the rulebook, under benefits of resting it says :

    "at the start of your next turn, you are done resting. Stand your Character Move Token back up. Heal 1 Wound and unflip all your flipped shticks"

    he's resting until its his turn starts. if he misses a turn, his turn doesnt start: he's still resting until it comes around again.
    Last edited by irlpotato; 2007-07-16 at 05:43 AM.

  25. - Top - End - #385
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    DwarfClericGuy

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Anyhoo, I'm not sure if it matters, as the rules say you get the -4 for both resting and losing a turn (for ANY reason).

  26. - Top - End - #386
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    MonkGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Ottawa,Ontario
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Moebius View Post
    An unrelated question: If you make a Ranged Attack on another player, and win, do you get to take a Loot from them? (And do they get one of yours if you lose?) The FAQ seems to indicate that you have to be at Range 0, but I can't find anything saying that in the rulebook. They're not really 'dropping' the loot the way a monster would, are they?
    On page 25, there's a section "Stealing Equipped Loot from Other Players". This states that you can only do this at range 0.
    Arcade

  27. - Top - End - #387
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    DwarfClericGuy

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Hmm, just as a side note, Belkar's Leaping Attack lets you steal loot, since you finish the attack at range 0.

  28. - Top - End - #388
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Mar 2005

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcade View Post
    On page 25, there's a section "Stealing Equipped Loot from Other Players". This states that you can only do this at range 0.
    *goes to check*
    Aha! Thanks. I somehow missed that on several readthroughs.

    Speaking of Ranged Attacks.... from the FAQ:

    Q: What happens if I lose a Ranged Attack against a monster with
    Bloodlust and no Range (or insufficient Range to reach the room Iím
    making my Ranged Attack from)?
    A: The battle is a draw. The rules for Ranged Attacks state that a monster
    cannot win a battle for which they have insufficient Range and that
    any result that would lead to a win (in this case, the presence of the
    Bloodlust ability) should be considered a draw instead.

    On page 18 of the rulebook, under Area Effect Shticks:

    Use any and all abilities possessed by the Monsters that affect the entire battle, including Bloodlust, Multiattack, or Outsmart.

    And then, in the example of a (Ranged) Area Effect , V is Fireballing some Snake Dragons (Bloodlust, but Range 0), and a Thing with the Eyes (Range 6).
    (s)He rolls a draw, and apparently the Bloodlust makes it a loss.

    So, one monster's Range makes another monster's Bloodlust work? And, just to clarify, if the Thing hadn't had sufficient Range to reach V, the Bloodlust would not have applied?

  29. - Top - End - #389
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Gender
    Male

    Default New Battle Hand - Special Case - When to draw?

    I know that you need to draw a new Battle Hand if it's your turn to add a monster to the Battle Stack and you can't. And I know that in this case, you draw your 7 new cards and are skipped for that one-time monster selection.

    But what happens when you empty your Battle Hand and you don't need to provide a monster? Let's say your Battle Hand only has 2 cards - and they're both Screw This cards. And - either during your turn or during another player's turn - you play both Screw This cards. You have emptied your Battle Hand, but you have not been called on to play a monster.

    What do you do? I see three possible choices for the rules.

    1. If you emptied your Battle Hand during your turn (by playing Screw This cards), then you immediately draw a new Battle Hand (so you can immediately have more Screw This cards). If you emptied your Battle Hand (by playing Screw This cards) on someone else's turn, then you wait until your turn to draw a new Battle Hand. If you need to play a monster before your turn arrives, then you draw your new Battle Hand as usual when you need to provide a monster - and are skipped for that one-time monster selection.
    2. If you emptied your Battle Hand (by playing Screw This cards), it doesn't matter if it's your turn or not. You immediately draw a new Battle Hand (so you can immediately have more Screw This cards, because the game is always funner the more Screw This cards are played ).
    3. If you emptied your Battle Hand (by playing Screw This cards), it doesn't matter if it's your turn or not. You must wait until you are called upon to play a monster before you draw a new Battle Hand (and you're skipped for that one-time monster selection).


    I would think the rules imply choice 3, but they don't spell it out. They do spell out what happens if you can't provide a monster when required (draw a new Battle Hand and be skipped), but they don't speak to drawing or not drawing a new Battle Hand when emptying your hand by playing Screw This cards. (At least, I didn't hear them speak to that point - but my hearing's not the greatest...)

    I would prefer Choice 2 - because it raises the chance of playing more Screw This cards, which I think makes the game funner. Sometimes even funnest.

    Survey says?

  30. - Top - End - #390
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    donkyhotay's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2006

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Per the rules you only draw cards when you should lay down a monster. Therefore you remain cardless until the next time you are called to play a monster (option 3 as you previously said). There are few exceptions to this, for example Durkon has the "W.W.T.D" card that allows him to draw cards from the battle deck, however except for the times that the rules explicitely state you can draw you do not draw from the battle deck.
    Do not be afraid to joust a giant just because some people insist on believing in windmills.
    FOSS Moonbase Commander remake @ http://code.google.com/p/tether

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •