Results 451 to 480 of 619
Thread: Rules Questions
-
2008-01-07, 03:19 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Dec 2007
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
althought i thought i should add that i'm pretty sure it was decided that if you were fighting the monsters and range 0 and there was already loot in the room then by succeeding with PPI you "defeated the last monster in the room" and could pick up two loots instead of one.
-
2008-01-22, 02:52 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2008
- Location
- Athens, Greece
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
New player on the playground...
We started to play and questions about the rules come all the time... I am reading the rules and try to make them [the other players] understand how things work but in some cases I couldn't find an answer
question #1 : Haley was resting in one room. Roy enters room and attacks Haley. Both players get support from others, Haley has a -4 in Defence. The question is: Can Haley use a shtick card for her Defence? Or not because she was resting?
question #2 : Some monsters got Support:Horde. As Horde counts what? Every other monster on the same floor?
question #3 : I play Roy. I begin my movement in a room with a Dragon. I must attack. But I got no ranged attack and Dragon is Flying with Range 6. What does it happen? If I got range < 6 but no 0 can I attack it?
Sorta noobish questions but we start our adventure from lvl1.waiting for a response...
p.s. excuse me if I wrote anything wrong... English, not my native language, have't practice them for years.Last edited by spawn_I; 2008-01-22 at 06:19 AM.
-
2008-01-22, 02:40 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Yes. There is no prohibition against using shticks in that case.
question #2 : Some monsters got Support:Horde. As Horde counts what? Every other monster on the same floor?
In the case of Horde, if someone plays a monster that is Horde-supported by Undead monsters, then the battle size increases by 1 for every Undead monster on the same floor - and while players are adding monsters to the battle to reach the battle size, if any more Undead monsters are added, the battle size goes up again.
question #3 : I play Roy. I begin my movement in a room with a Dragon. I must attack. But I got no ranged attack and Dragon is Flying with Range 6. What does it happen? If I got range < 6 but no 0 can I attack it?
If you are attacking from a different room, then you can ignore the Flying ability - you just need to have enough range to reach that room.
-
2008-01-23, 01:26 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2008
- Location
- Athens, Greece
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
#1 Ok, we played that part wrong... someone will kill me for that
#3 Wrong, too. So Belkar with Leaping Attack can attack the Dragon eh? And from another room we don't count range as 1 room and 6 from the dragon = 7? Haley with Ranged Attack 4 can Attack from the room next to the one that the Dragon is?
#2 You mean that Horde = Undead or I don't get the point?
Thanks for your answers, hope not to be disturbing...
-
2008-01-23, 01:48 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Yes.
And from another room we don't count range as 1 room and 6 from the dragon = 7? Haley with Ranged Attack 4 can Attack from the room next to the one that the Dragon is?
For example, Vaarsuvius with a fully-boosted Lightning Bolt has a range of 7. So V can attack from 7 rooms away. If V loses, there's no wound, because the dragon doesn't have enough range to reach V. (Rulebook page 12, second bullet under "Ranged Defense".)
#2 You mean that Horde = Undead or I don't get the point?
-
2008-01-23, 02:20 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2008
- Location
- Athens, Greece
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
ok, got the Ranged Attack part... thanks
now for #2 I'll try to explain [note: I don't have the cards in front of me]
see page 31 of the Rules... Horde Support Ability.
If I play a monster with the Horde Support Ability [the card doesn't say anyhting about battle size] but in the same floor there are other monsters that can support this one [Goblin Necromancer as if in the example given and 3 misc. goblins in other rooms] then the battle size goes +3?
-
2008-01-24, 12:31 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
First I'll answer the question you didn't ask: Goblin Necromancer is a goblin himself, but it is not supported by goblins. It is supported by undead. The icon at the top left corner of the card shows the monster's own type, but the icon next to "Support:" shows the type of monster that supports this one. They are often the same, but they can be different.
Now to answer the question you did ask: if there are some supporting monsters already on the same floor, then yes, they do contribute their support. So if there are 3 undead monsters already on the floor when someone plays a Goblin Necromancer, then they do increase the battle size by 3 immediately.
-
2008-01-27, 11:09 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2008
Re: Rules Questions
I have a question about Outsmart and Area Effect (specifically Fireball). Let's say
is blasting a stack of 3 monsters with a boosted fireball and the third monster has the Outsmart ability.
's shticks are shuffled and one of the Fireballs is (randomly) selected and flipped. Now, the Fireball can only affect the top two monster, so what happens? Does play continue, leaving the Fireball flipped but only affecting the top two monsters? Is the third monster affected anyway? Does the paradox cause a rift in the very fabric of space-time, allowing a horde of horrid shapeless monsters to flood in and run amuck?
-
2008-01-28, 12:05 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Good question. This post is the closest I can find to an official precedent. The rule seems to be "if you have a way to continue battling, you have to do it, without modifying any of the already-established battle conditions unless you are forced to." So I'd say you still battle, and you still use the same Battle Shtick if you have any unflipped copies left (otherwise you have to choose another), but you use it in its less-boosted state - so in this case, you're now only battling the top two monsters (which might be a good thing, as far as what you need to roll to win).
-
2008-02-03, 01:51 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Feb 2008
Re: Rules Questions
A favorite tactic is to unequip all loot except for one lame one at the end of the turn, equip it all again at the beginning of the next turn, and then unequip all but the lame one at the end again. This is to prevent another player from taking good loot should they attack and defeat you. Is this play legal?
Are there any restrictions as to what can be traded between other players and when? Can loot be traded between players? Screw This cards? Monster cards in your Battle Hand? Saved monsters that have been defeated? Are trades made at any time or just on your turn?
If Belkar attacks Roy who uses Logic and wins so Belkar must lose a turn. The rules say that Belkar is immediately put on his side. Can he collect a loot in the room he's in at the end of his current turn?
Thanks.
-
2008-02-03, 03:03 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Legal, if perhaps a bit underhanded, according to
apegamer and the Giant.
Are there any restrictions as to what can be traded between other players and when? Can loot be traded between players?
Screw This cards? Monster cards in your Battle Hand? Saved monsters that have been defeated?
If Belkar attacks Roy who uses Logic and wins so Belkar must lose a turn. The rules say that Belkar is immediately put on his side. Can he collect a loot in the room he's in at the end of his current turn?
-
2008-02-04, 06:40 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2008
- Location
- Athens, Greece
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
new question.
I don't have the game in front of me so I'll try to explain as best as I can...
I play Roy. And I get to fight with Xykon... I use Charge so I attack instead of defend. Then I use Greenhilt Sword and both boosts. That's +6 Attack [If I remember correctly]. I ask for assistance from others players and I get it. Then one of my shtick cards [I think Blood Oath of Vengeance] says that I boost every shtick card. So... I boost the Greenhilt Sword one more time [+8] or I boost and the three copies [+12]?
hope you get what I mean...My Character...
-
2008-02-04, 01:22 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
The Blood Oath gives you only one extra boost to the Greenhilt Sword, not three. When it says that it boosts all your other shticks, that means that it also boosts Great Cleavage, Logic, Bag of Tricks, etc. (Once each.) But the boost to the Greenhilt Sword is the only one that will matter anyway, in this case.
If you had already flipped Charge!, and if you weren't confident about defending against Xykon, then you could use the Plate Mail and Boots (boosted by the Blood Oath), and then attack on your next turn, with the Blood Oath now boosting the Greenhilt Sword. That's the only situation I can think of where having the Blood Oath boost other shticks would help.
-
2008-03-13, 01:00 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2008
Re: Rules Questions
Ok, I played this for the first time last october at Necronomicon in FL, and bought it a week or 2 later. My gaming group has figured out pretty much every rules question, but the support thing has got me completely confused. I'm not sure how the support abilities work, and in what order they go in. For example (don't have the game, posting at work) if I started a battle size 3 battle with some demon roaches, then put say, an ogre that gains +1 wound when it's supported, then on top of that gets put a goblin that gains +2 A/D for every supporting character. Does the goblin get the support from the roaches, and once the goblin is dead, the roaches then support the ogre? Also, does the support ability only count for monsters on the battle stack in one room, or are monsters supported by all the monsters on the floor (that apply). If someone can give me a run down of how it works, that would be great!
-
2008-03-13, 01:34 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Firstly, it sounds like you're stacking the monsters in the wrong order. The first one played stays on top; the second one goes under that; the third goes under the second. (See "Playing Monsters" on page 11 of the rulebook.) The exception is the Demon Roaches, which always go to the bottom of the stack. But any others stay in their normal order, with earlier-played ones higher in the stack, so they are battled in the same order in which they were played.
Does the goblin get the support from the roaches, and once the goblin is dead, the roaches then support the ogre?
According to the original rules as printed in the rulebook, the Roaches would support both of the other monsters at the same time. (In the case of Deadly or Assist, it would make a difference if you were battling both monsters together using an Area Effect shtick.) But the support rules were changed in the FAQ so that each supporting monster only supports the topmost monster that it could support at any one time, to prevent Horde clusters from getting ridiculously huge.
Also, does the support ability only count for monsters on the battle stack in one room, or are monsters supported by all the monsters on the floor (that apply).
-
2008-03-13, 01:45 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2008
Re: Rules Questions
That makes more sense. So basically say I have a stack with 2 goblins that are supported by goblins for +2 A/D, and then a normal goblin under them. The top goblin would have +4 A/D, and the next goblin would have +2 A/D? And the part about monsters only being able to support one monster at a time is basically only to keep horde under control (since I don't see any other way it would matter).
also I saw a question earlier in here and made me wonder. when starting your movement, and there is a monster in your room (say, you hid from that monster last turn) are you required to fight the monster? Or can you move out of that room. also, if you are moving through a room with a monster, you don't have to fight it unless you end your movement there, right?
-
2008-03-13, 01:57 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Right.
And the part about monsters only being able to support one monster at a time is basically only to keep horde under control (since I don't see any other way it would matter).
when starting your movement, and there is a monster in your room (say, you hid from that monster last turn) are you required to fight the monster?
also, if you are moving through a room with a monster, you don't have to fight it unless you end your movement there, right?
-
2008-03-13, 02:09 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2008
Re: Rules Questions
And one last one. Monsters on the stack, can only be supported by monsters beneath them? So in that goblin scenario, that top goblin wouldn't support the goblin under it (if I were using an area of effect spell). Basically saying, whatever is on top of the stack can only be supported by things under it.
-
2008-03-13, 10:34 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
-
2008-03-13, 07:29 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2008
Re: Rules Questions
Ok, so just let me see if I understand. Say I have a battle size 3. The top monster is a goblin with horde, supported by goblins. The second is the same monster, and the third is a goblin that gets +2 A/D for each goblin. I'd play the first one, then the second one would support the top one, and the top would support the second one (adding +2 to battle size). 2 forgettable goblins are played next. They support the horde (once each) to give +2 to the battle size. After that, some undead/kobolds or something are played that don't support anything. Making the total battle size a 7. I kill the first goblin with horde, can continue to kill the second. I'm now fighting the goblin that gets +2 A/D for each supporting goblin. But since the forgettable goblins supported the horde goblins earlier, do they now support the +2 A/D goblin? Or do you choose what creature is supporting what creature when they are played?
-
2008-03-13, 08:33 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
-
2008-03-13, 08:39 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2008
Re: Rules Questions
Alrighty. Think I understand it. But the goblins can only support 1 monster at a time, so if they support the horde, they don't support the +2 A/D in the case of an AoE attack? But they do support the topmost goblin later in the battle.
-
2008-03-13, 08:48 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
-
2008-03-14, 12:49 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2008
Re: Rules Questions
I think I get it. and horde is only effected at the beginning of the battle. so say, 3 goblins support the horde, and I kill the top monster, those 3 goblins now support the +2 A/D goblin that's now on top of the stack? just those 3 that supported the horde first round can't support the +2 A/D in the case of an AOE attack
-
2008-03-14, 08:00 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Right, you got it.
-
2008-03-14, 11:07 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2008
Re: Rules Questions
Hooray! Haha Thanks for all the help!
-
2008-03-20, 10:58 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2008
Re: Rules Questions
Hello!
If I am standing in The Hall of Mysterious Runes (which adds +2 attack and +2 defense when using a magic shtick in the room) and making a ranged attack in to the next room over with a magic shtick, do I get the bonus?
Clearly I am in the room. And clearly I am using a magic shtick. But it isn't clear if I am "using a magic shtick in this room."
Thanks!
-
2008-03-21, 06:39 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Owner of APE Games.
-
2008-07-09, 08:17 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
- Argentina
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Q: Does the sthicks (or screw this) that flip others players card (like party leader veto) is able to flip card that usually don´t flip?
For example, can Roy flip Belkar's Twin daggers of Doom?solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
AKA Yakkul
-
2008-07-09, 11:12 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Yes, they do.
Owner of APE Games.