Results 481 to 510 of 619
Thread: Rules Questions
-
2008-07-09, 11:19 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Yes. According to the rulebook (page 22), shticks that usually don't flip "can be flipped by a shtick or Screw This! card that says it can flip any shtick". If the card that does the flipping doesn't specify any restrictions on which shticks it can flip, then it can flip any shtick.
-
2008-07-10, 02:06 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
- Argentina
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Oh, ok. Sorry about that. I had read the rulebook but forgot about it (and didn't knew where to look for them). Actually, i thought it was like that until i realized that Party Leader Veto + Fearless Leader is a nasty way to shut down annoying players (like Belkar, vetoing his Twin Daggers of Doom).
Also, it´s probably stated in the rules that you can trade loot between players outside the standard specify rules, right?. Asking won't hurt (since i don't have the rulebook here but i do have internet). Like V asking for loot (not necessarily he/she drools over) to buff one of your shticks besides one loot (which drools over) for the +2 assistance?solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
AKA Yakkul
-
2008-07-10, 02:19 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
No, that isn't mentioned anywhere in the rules. If there's a deal that involves loot changing hands (like getting healed by Durkon), the rules or cards will say so.
Asking won't hurt (since i don't have the rulebook here but i do have internet).
-
2008-07-20, 12:07 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
- Argentina
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
About V's shtick, Evan's Spiked Tentacles Of Forced Intrusion, what is the use to nullify the Flying ability? I get to see the rewards for V for canceling multiattack , but V´s shticks are not affected by range (except the quarter-staff, which you'd only be using against enchanted monsters, but Evan's Spiked Tentacles Of Forced Intrusion can't be used against them).
If you can play the card at any time, i see the point: you can use it to help other player with range 0 shticks deal with flying monsters.
But if you can only play it in your turn, it seems useless. Though, i interpret that shticks are only used on your turn unless stated otherwise (like shticks that prevent wounds).
Either way, I'd appreciate an explanation of how this shticks works and it's intent.
Then the Buff spell of V looks such a waste. I mean, the only purpose of this shtick is to extra assist a player just because you feel so.solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
AKA Yakkul
-
2008-07-20, 07:38 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Yes, I believe that's the case here.
Though, i interpret that shticks are only used on your turn unless stated otherwise (like shticks that prevent wounds).
There are some printing mistakes - Roy's Party Leader Veto and Haley's Second in Command are to be used only at the start of their own turns. But those are explicitly mentioned in the FAQ. If the rules or the card don't say it's limited to your own turn, and if there hasn't been a correction adding that limitation, then there is no limitation.
Then the Buff spell of V looks such a waste. I mean, the only purpose of this shtick is to extra assist a player just because you feel so.
-
2008-07-30, 07:31 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
- Argentina
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
So, it's me still around here! Thanks for the answers so far
Question:
You can't move into a room and attack a player if there are monsters in the same room but (if your room is clear from monsters) can you make ranged attacks against a player with monsters in the same room?
Also, Belkar's Keen Nose doesn't specify how the monster to be shown is chosen. The player can choose which one to show you then? (showing you the same one over and over).Last edited by PePe QuiCoSE; 2008-07-30 at 07:32 AM.
solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
AKA Yakkul
-
2008-07-30, 03:51 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Yes. If you don't move, and there are no monsters in your room, then you can attack any target within your range. (Rulebook, page 12.)
Also, Belkar's Keen Nose doesn't specify how the monster to be shown is chosen. The player can choose which one to show you then? (showing you the same one over and over).
-
2008-08-02, 08:55 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Last edited by apegamer; 2008-08-02 at 08:56 AM.
Owner of APE Games.
-
2008-08-14, 08:49 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
- Argentina
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Ok, so this came up.
Xykon Special does not allow you to refuse assisting a player. Can this be done through Screw This! cards? Like playing Solo Challenge or Double Cross?Last edited by PePe QuiCoSE; 2008-08-14 at 09:43 AM. Reason: nvm, found it on the rules
solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
AKA Yakkul
-
2008-08-15, 12:12 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
By my reading, those are both legal. You're only required to give assistance if the battling player asks, and Solo Challenge stops them from asking. Double Cross seems to me like it would be against the spirit of the no-refusal rule, and maybe it should be amended to prohibit its use for Xykon, but it seems to be ok as written.
-
2008-08-16, 08:23 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2005
- Location
- Tennessee
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
The Giant posted this a while ago in response to a question about sending V's raven to grab a loot in another room.
I am very, very, super sorry if this has been addressed before now, but 8 pages is a lot to read through.
If V sends his raven to grab a loot in a room with Elan and Belkar present, and Blackwing draws a loot that is a single-target trap, who does the trap target?
I presume it targets Blackwing the Raven, and has no effect, but is there an official ruling somewhere?
EDIT: Also, the FAQ currently states that monsters cannot provide support for more than one monster in the same room, in an effort to cut down on horde size.
The rule as stated is that the monster closest to the top receives the support. In the case of Battle Size it does not matter, but in the case of receiving bonuses to Attack and Defense, do lower monsters inherit the support if the higher monster is killed?
Example: Goblin A gains support from other goblins in the form of +2 Attack and Defense, and is played first. Goblin B also gains support in the same way, but is played second, and therefore does not gain the support from other goblins. Goblins C-Z are played afterwards turning Goblin A into one bad dude. One of the PCs takes out Goblin A. Does Goblin B now gain the support since he's at the top of the stack?Last edited by FreeloadingSausage; 2008-08-16 at 08:46 PM.
"The men below this deck are no longer combatants, and neither will you be."
- Jan Vekk von Larsfolk
(Avatar image by Sketch)
(Signature image by Kalirush)
-
2008-08-17, 12:30 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
- Argentina
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
AKA Yakkul
-
2008-08-18, 01:06 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Yes, according to the FAQ: "Should the Woodcutter be defeated, all monsters that were supporting the Woodcutter are now free to immediately support the next monster in the stack, the Teenagers."
I believe there's a mistake in the following example in the FAQ, though: "Player 4 plays Demon Roach. Demon Roach supports Demon Roach King, not Orc Summoner, because Demon Roach King is closer to the top of the stack." This wouldn't happen, since Demon Roach King immediately moves to the bottom of the stack when played.
-
2008-08-28, 11:11 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Dec 2006
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Durkon's shtick Goblinthwacker... does it let him attack goblins just outside of his normal range with Thor's Hammer?
Zoit! Avatar by Cult_of_the_Raven.
Is an adventurer you?
-
2008-08-29, 12:06 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
-
2008-09-11, 10:02 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2008
- Location
- UK
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Hi! I bought the game a few weeks ago and have played it a fair few times since then (the joys of being a student and in the summer holidays...) A few questions have come up though, so I was wondering if anyone could give me an official ruling or at least an alternative interpretation on them? If anyone's interested, I've put the interpretations of me and my friends in italics after the questions.
Firstly, Haley's shtick "Secret Crush" - what happens if Elan's an NPC? Does it work so long as she's on the floor that Elan as an NPC is (pretty powerful in a 2 player game, where both players tend to be on the same floor)? Or does it only work if Nale's on the same floor? We decided (through roll of the dice) that it didn't work for NPC Elan, making it, TBH, a fairly useless schtick if Elan's not being played.
Also, her "Disarm Traps" - when disarming, you get +4 to your roll; does this also cumulate with other things for evading traps? If so and you get it with both The Stick loot and Good Reflexes schtick, you've got +8 on trying to disarm traps; pretty good odds... We decided that one could work and one couldn't; I can't remember which way round but I think it might have been "Good Reflexes" stacked (since reflexes are good for disarming traps) but The Stick didn't.
V's "Ambiguous Gender" - does this have to happen whenever you're attacked (and have the schtick in play)? Or can you choose to not let it happen, say if you thought you had a reasonable chance of winning? And if it does come into effect, could you still play "Saw it Coming" first if you had it? I'd imagine "Ambiguous Gender" has to be used whenever you're attacked, regardless of desire, and there's no text to say you can flip it when you want; however, since the player's already attacked you you could use "Saw it Coming" first, then play out "Ambiguous Gender".
Elan's "Gratuitous Nudity" - I know that in the FAQ it says when he flips it he has to close his own eyes, but I'd question that personally...the idea is by being naked, no-one (except Haley) wants to look so they close their eyes; why would Elan close his? If it weren't for the Haley exception, I'd agree with Elan closing his eyes as well, but as it is... Also, it says it counts as a boost for his "Hide" shtick. Is that whenever it's in play? Or is it any point in the turn when it's flipped (the monsters close their eyes too)? Or just the first battle? I'd imagine from the way everything else works, it would boost "Hide" so long as it is unflipped...but that seems somewhat counter-intuitive...
That'll do for the moment! I'll probably be back to ask for more later, but any answers to the above would be great. It's a fantastic game though, so long as you've got the time to play it!
-
2008-09-11, 10:46 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
- Argentina
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Hey there! As a fellow gamer i'll say what i have been ruling on the subject.
In our games we made no distinction about it, she always gets the bonus as long as she is on the same floor as Elan (PC or NPC).
Also, her "Disarm Traps" - when disarming, you get +4 to your roll; does this also cumulate with other things for evading traps?
V's "Ambiguous Gender" - does this have to happen whenever you're attacked (and have the schtick in play)? Or can you choose to not let it happen, say if you thought you had a reasonable chance of winning? And if it does come into effect, could you still play "Saw it Coming" first if you had it? I'd imagine "Ambiguous Gender" has to be used whenever you're attacked, regardless of desire, and there's no text to say you can flip it when you want; however, since the player's already attacked you you could use "Saw it Coming" first, then play out "Ambiguous Gender".
About having to use it, I'd follow the same guidelines as most other shticks have (specially Roy's 'Fearless Leader' or Durkon's 'Clank clank clank'). If it is not flipped, it is in use. To not use it, it should be flipped. If it is not indicated in the card that you can flip it,then you can't and have to use it when it's played.
Elan's "Gratuitous Nudity" - I know that in the FAQ it says when he flips it he has to close his own eyes, but I'd question that personally...the idea is by being naked, no-one (except Haley) wants to look so they close their eyes; why would Elan close his? If it weren't for the Haley exception, I'd agree with Elan closing his eyes as well, but as it is...
Also, it says it counts as a boost for his "Hide" shtick. Is that whenever it's in play? Or is it any point in the turn when it's flipped (the monsters close their eyes too)? Or just the first battle? I'd imagine from the way everything else works, it would boost "Hide" so long as it is unflipped...but that seems somewhat counter-intuitive...solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
AKA Yakkul
-
2008-10-10, 07:41 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2008
Re: Rules Questions
Is it possible to remove the "Xykon" special ability from Xykon using the "I forgot they could do that" card?
It sounds pretty silly at first but the rules doesn't forbid it, from what i can tell. This came up in the last game we played and after a good laugh we decided that yes, its possible to remove the "xykon" ability, which postpones the destruction of the dungeon by one turn if he is defeated (when IFTCDT is no longer i effect). What's the official ruling?
-
2008-10-10, 08:12 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
I suspect it's not meant to be removable. As you say, it's allowed by a strict reading of the rules, but I think that's probably a mistake in the rules. The Giant or apegamer would have to give the official word, though.
we decided that yes, its possible to remove the "xykon" ability, which postpones the destruction of the dungeon by one turn if he is defeated (when IFTCDT is no longer i effect).
-
2008-10-11, 08:47 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2008
-
2008-10-11, 11:42 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
- Argentina
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Well, in this case i agree that we need the word of the creators. But judging from what you propose i wouldn't allow it in my games for how abusable it can be. Roy and V can get an IFTCDT for that battle using the Sarcastic Quip Loot and could attempt to do this every game.
As an argument i would propose that it can't be affected by Screw This! card because it's a "Special" ability, not a normal one.solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
AKA Yakkul
-
2008-10-31, 11:57 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2008
Re: Rules Questions
Hi, I just had the Screw This! card "I forgot they could do that" used to negate Xycon's Xycon ability. Our GM looked over the rules and after some laughs decided it wasn't forbidden by the game. But really then the game was broken. Without Xycon's ability the game doesn't end. It's what makes the dungeon collapse. Really it was only used to take the points I'd get from killing him. But looking into it further we decided the game couldn't end. Dan was declared the winner for managing to break the game. We made this account to see if something has been said about this rule.
-
2008-11-08, 09:07 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2008
- Location
- Canada, ON
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I have a Ranged attack question because it seems to me the rules aren't too clear on this.
If a player (say V w/a fireball) makes a ranged attack from 2 rooms away on an enemy and V loses the roll. does V take a wound for losing or because it's a ranged attack there's is no bad result for suffering defeat?
-
2008-11-09, 01:27 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
If the defender has sufficent range to reach the attacker, then the attacker gets wounded. (Or, if the defender is another player, it's the defender's shtick's result, which may or may not be a wound.) If the defender doesn't have enough range to reach the attacker, then the attacker is safe. See the rulebook, page 12, under "Ranged Defense".
-
2008-12-06, 06:16 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Dec 2006
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Further question about Goblinthwacker. Can you also use it to attack goblins further down in the stack just outside the normal range for Thor's Hammer? For example, if your hammer has a range of 2, and three rooms away, there's a stack with, in order, a Crunchy Taco Golem (Food type) and a Goblin with an Eel Biting It On The Nose (Goblin type), can you hit the goblin with the golem there, or do you have to destroy the golem first in some other fashion?
Zoit! Avatar by Cult_of_the_Raven.
Is an adventurer you?
-
2008-12-06, 06:29 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
Re: Rules Questions
No mechanism in the game lets you skip the top monster in a stack to battle one underneath it.
The boost effect on Thor's Hammer does include extending its range, so if there's a Goblin at the top of a stack that's three rooms away, and Goblinthwacker would boost your range up to 3, then you can battle that Goblin.
-
2008-12-22, 05:50 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
- st. louis
Re: Rules Questions
This was already asked ....
Originally Posted by Moebius
More questions about Area Effect Shticks...
Can you Defend against multiple monsters with Turn Undead or Poorly-Planned Illusion? The only other AES (so far), Fireball, has N/A for Defense, but those two have a value. Turn Undead is actually better in Defense than Attack.
Yes, you can Defend using an Area Effect Shtick, if the shtick has a value for Defense. This would happen if you walk into a room of Monsters, or if you are attacked at Range by a Monster via the "Ambush!" Screw This! card.
but my question was, when denfending with an area of effect do you select the highest attacking value in the stack like you would if for defense if you were attacking?
Also I saw this asked and didnt see an answer, but it happened in our first game:
A question came up last night regarding the "Ghost of Dorukan" card in the Xykon's Lair deck in conjunction with Elan's Poorly-Planned Illusion schtick. The wording on the "Ghost of Dorukan" card specifies that the boon is granted to the player who "kills the last monster in the room." In this case, Elan had killed the first monster he faced out of four in the room with a different battle schtick, but then used Poorly-Planned Illusion to move the rest of the monsters to another room.
While it seems to me to make sense that Elan get the boon, the wording on the card would imply otherwise. Should the card say "defeats" instead of "kills"? Does the Ghost stay put until a new battle in the room is triggered and the new "last" monster in the room is actually killed? Or is there some other interpretation I'm missing? Elan DID kill a monster, but at the time he killed it, it wasn't the last one in the room. The last monster in the room wasn't killed, but moved to a different room. Thanks in advance!
-
2008-12-22, 06:10 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2007
-
2009-01-31, 10:53 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
- Location
- Denmark
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
------------------------------
If there's a battle going on, and for some reason you don't defeat it and it's still in the room (hide shtick fx), can I then just flee the monster when it's my turn next? Or do someone else need to defeat the monster beofre I can go awaySpoilerSpoilerYou never know, when to know that it would be good knowing, that if you didn't know, you would not be knowing at allSpoiler-Thanks Calamity for allowing me to adapt Mr. ScuffyHe really serves as a good avatar
-
2009-01-31, 11:34 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
- Argentina
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
AKA Yakkul