Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Page 19 of 21 FirstFirst ... 9101112131415161718192021 LastLast
Results 541 to 570 of 619

Thread: Rules Questions

  1. - Top - End - #541
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    PaladinGuy

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I thought I had read an answer to this question previously, but after searching for "Fireball" again I can't find what I'm looking for.

    If V has a once-boosted Fireball (2 copies of the shtick in play) - after using it, does he flip both copies or just one? Meaning could he use a boosted version, and then have a "regular" version left to use before resting?

  2. - Top - End - #542
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by DancingMonkey View Post
    If V has a once-boosted Fireball (2 copies of the shtick in play) - after using it, does he flip both copies or just one? Meaning could he use a boosted version, and then have a "regular" version left to use before resting?
    Right, only one flips per battle. The rulebook gives an example of this with Durkon using Thor's Lightning on page 22.

  3. - Top - End - #543
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Roxysteve's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Forgive me if this has come up before. I have attempted to search the thread for what I'm looking for but the engine keeps dumping me at the link for this forum and I haven't the energy to wade the entire forum. I'd be happy to be linked to a previous reply that explains what I'm after.

    I was hosting a game for the first time in years at a small in-store gamecon in order to kick up sales for OOTS:TDOD for the store owner. I was showcasing the game for many people and so not playing it in full-press OOTS mode and the issue I'm looking at didn't arise.

    In an idle moment between demos I attempted to use the changed rules for battle-size by actually playing out the examples given, and I can't make the second one (the one that starts with Mr Demon and The Demon Roach King) work the way it goes in the FAQ.

    The rules as written in the FAQ say "Any given monster that could provide support to more than one other monster only actually provides support to the topmost monster in any given room". So far so simple.

    Now I play out the second example.

    Mr Demon is played.

    Demon Roach King is played and gets support from Mr Demon so battle size is +1. Demon Roach King supports Mr Demon as per rule quoted above.

    Orc Summoner is played, and the trouble starts. According to the FAQ example, the Orc Summoner gets support from the Demon Roach King, but according to the rule quoted above that support is being given to Mr Demon. Mr Demon's support is being claimed by the Demon Roach King and so cannot trigger the Orc Summoner's "Horde" ability either.

    Why does the battle size continue to grow (under the FAQ rule change)?

    Thanks,

    Steve.
    Last edited by Roxysteve; 2009-11-29 at 10:21 AM. Reason: Stupid Spelling Error
    So it's psionic, so what? We can take it down lads!

    Lads?

  4. - Top - End - #544
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Roxysteve View Post
    Demon Roach King supports Mr Demon as per rule quoted above.
    That's where you're deviating from the example. I think you're right, and this is a mistake in the example.

    There's another snag in the example, depending on how you interpret the Henchman ability of the Demon Roach King. It says "Moves to the bottom of any battle stack", but there are different ways that could be done, and I don't know of any official examples the demonstrate which way is supposed to be standard. This example seems to ignore that part of the Henchman ability entirely.

    The way I play, a Henchman goes to the bottom, and stays there, immediately when they are played. Any further monsters are played into the middle of the stack--below the previous non-Henchman monsters, but above the Henchmen. Alternatively, you might play all the monsters in order, and once the stack is complete, only then pull out the Henchmen and move them to the bottom. Depending on which method you choose, you could get a different battle size in some cases.

    So I would play the example like this:
    • Player 1 plays Mr. Demon.
    • Player 2 plays Demon Roach King under Mr. Demon. The two monsters support each other, so the King's Horde raises the battle size to 3.
    • Player 3 plays Orc Summoner between Mr. Demon and the King. Now Mr. Demon supports the Summoner instead of the King, while the King still supports Mr. Demon. The King has no support. The battle size increases again because the Summoner is a Leader.
    • Player 4 plays Demon Roaches, who support Mr. Demon. The battle stack is now finished.


    Using the other interpretation of Henchman, we get the same end result in this case. The first two steps work the same way, and then:
    • Player 3 plays Orc Summoner under the Demon Roach King. The Summoner supports no one and is supported by no one. The battle size increases again because the Summoner is a Leader.
    • Player 4 plays Demon Roaches, who support Mr. Demon. The battle stack is finished.
    • Now we move the King and Roaches to the bottom. Mr. Demon now supports the Summoner instead of the King, while the King and Roaches still supports Mr. Demon. The King has no support.


    With this second Henchman interpretation, it's possible in some cases that the battle size might increase after the rearrangement, but I wouldn't play any additional monsters at that point.

    It looks like when the example was written, they forgot that Mr. Demon gets support. So just pretend it's Hellpuppy instead of Mr. Demon, and then the example would almost work. It's still missing the movement of the Henchmen to the bottom of the stack, but that could be done after all the monsters are played, depending on your interpretation of Henchman.

  5. - Top - End - #545
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    waterpenguin43's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I have two questions:
    #1: If there is a monster and a player in a room together, can V use fireball on both?
    and
    #2: Can you run away from monsters (As in, not because your out of wounds)? And if so, how?
    Beautiful avatar by Mr_Saturn
    Quote Originally Posted by Maximum Zersk View Post
    ...I think that counts as your own Crowning Moment of Awesome, WP.
    Thank you's:
    Spoiler
    Show
    Lovely avatar of an NPC in Camp Half-Blood of mine by Crimson Angel:
    Thanks to Green Bean for my Spheal avatar.

    Also thanks to VT for awarding me with a VT monster competition award.


    Four internets and a cookie!

  6. - Top - End - #546
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    PePe QuiCoSE's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Argentina
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    1. No, area shticks only affect monsters (you can't PvP with fireball)
    2. Not sure what you are asking...
    You can walk through rooms with monsters, you only have to fight monsters that appear/are in the room you finish movement. If you start your turn in a room with monsters, you can either fight them or move to other rooms.
    The most similar thing to 'avoid' a fight with monsters when a battle happens is the defense only shticks (like hide).

    Hope that helps
    solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
    AKA Yakkul

  7. - Top - End - #547
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2009

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Hi,
    First of all I love the game.
    I have played a little bit with my wife (a 2 player game) and have encountered several questions. I have read through this thread but did not quite understand everything:

    1. Ranged attack
    1. I am not sure I fully understand how ranged attack works when the target does not have the range:
    Let us assume I am playing Haley and attacking using my longbow a monster on the other room which has a range:0 do I automatically win (as they have 0 defense in this range)? If I use the "1" always looses rule is it a draw in such a case? I saw somewhere else that the defense stays but the monster cannot win (i.e. if I lose, its a draw), is this how it is done?
    Do the monster abilities apply? for example if it has impervious ability does it mean I can't use my bow? if it has support does it get the bonuses? On the one hand I would say these count because if I didn't have an appropriate shtick then I could still use items that give me bonuses as a player so the target monster should behave the same but on the other hand I saw somewhere that bloodlust would not take effect (the example showed it taking effect on an area effect when one monster had the range and the other had bloodlust and it was explained that if the bloodlust monster would have been alone then the effect would not happen).

    When a monster has a range of X. Is this the defense/attack against a ranged attack or is the defense the normal one and it just says that if the range is too low we have a draw if the player looses?

    For PvP ranged attack
    I saw that you can range attack a player but if you win you have to be in the same room to get the loot. What is the point of making a ranged attack against a player then?

    2. Battle stack

    Just wanted to make sure I understand the battle stack rules:
    Let us say that player A enters a room. We have a three player game (A,B,C). First player C plays monster C1, then player B plays monster B1 then player A plays monster A1.
    If I understand correctly, A1 is the top monster to fight then, after it is defeated, B1 can be fought and then C1.
    Does this mean that the player puts the third monster on himself (assuming of course it is not a special one that says it goes to the bottom)?

    Other than support issues, am I to understand correctly that if there is a larger battle stack the only limitation it adds (barring support issues) is that the player cannot take any loot until all monsters are defeated but it does not make it any harder to fight?

    3. balancing issues

    In our game I played Roy and my Wife played Haley. What happened was that I only had +2 from the greenhilt sword and my wife had +3 (sneak attack + bow)
    At the start of the game she got a couple of bonuses bringing her to +5. she then began to kill stuff and using assistance from the NPC (which were always available limited by loot only) she began to quickly win battles and get stronger and stronger while I stayed with my lowly +2 for a long time (as most of my shticks were relevant for more players).
    Pretty soon she began wading through the monsters and I couldn't even begin to evolve.
    I guess my question is what can be done to balance this. I guess when there are more players a couple of weak players would gang up on the leading one but here the stronger she got the easier it was for her to kill more monsters while I got stuck.

    Anyway thanks in advance for any clarifications you can give me...

  8. - Top - End - #548
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    PePe QuiCoSE's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Argentina
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by voldan View Post
    Hi,
    1. Ranged attack
    1. I am not sure I fully understand how ranged attack works when the target does not have the range:
    Let us assume I am playing Haley and attacking using my longbow a monster on the other room which has a range:0 do I automatically win (as they have 0 defense in this range)? If I use the "1" always looses rule is it a draw in such a case?
    No, the monsters always uses the values they have, the difference is that if they don't have enough range to hit you, they can't win and it's a draw. So, you win if you defeat his defense or you draw if he beats your attack. A draw means that nothing happens, same as when your defense equals monsters attack.
    Do the monster abilities apply? for example if it has impervious ability does it mean I can't use my bow? if it has support does it get the bonuses?
    Some abilities apply, some do not: bloodlust does not but impervious does. Think about what abilities activate before battle and after battle and it gives you a good idea of the ones that apply even with insufficient range. I don't remember the official ruling, but i play that outsmart does.
    When a monster has a range of X. Is this the defense/attack against a ranged attack or is the defense the normal one and it just says that if the range is too low we have a draw if the player looses?
    Range only means how many rooms a monster can reach, either in range attack or defense.

    For PvP ranged attack
    I saw that you can range attack a player but if you win you have to be in the same room to get the loot. What is the point of making a ranged attack against a player then?
    Taking away that last wound so they have to rush to the dungeon entrance?

    2. Battle stack

    Just wanted to make sure I understand the battle stack rules:
    Let us say that player A enters a room. We have a three player game (A,B,C). First player C plays monster C1, then player B plays monster B1 then player A plays monster A1.
    If I understand correctly, A1 is the top monster to fight then, after it is defeated, B1 can be fought and then C1.
    Does this mean that the player puts the third monster on himself (assuming of course it is not a special one that says it goes to the bottom)?
    No, exactly the other way around. First player puts the top monster, each player adds a monster below the rest (except for roaches). But yes, it happens that players have to play monsters on itself.

    Other than support issues, am I to understand correctly that if there is a larger battle stack the only limitation it adds (barring support issues) is that the player cannot take any loot until all monsters are defeated but it does not make it any harder to fight?
    Pretty much, yes.

    3. balancing issues
    Yeah, the game is not really designed for 2 players so no balance there. Still, the Haley and Roy are the ones who fare better, it could have been the other way around if you hit Roy's boost early.

    Most of these questions are in the rules, you should re-check them.
    Last edited by PePe QuiCoSE; 2009-11-30 at 02:20 PM.
    solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
    AKA Yakkul

  9. - Top - End - #549
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2009

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    If you put the new monsters on the bottom and roaches always go to the bottom but only when they are played then what is the difference between them and normal monsters?

  10. - Top - End - #550
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Roxysteve's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by prj View Post
    That's where you're deviating from the example. I think you're right, and this is a mistake in the example.
    Nope, it turns out I just can't read. The Orc Summoner increases the battle size because of his LEADER ability, not his unsupported HORDE ability.

    Quote Originally Posted by prj View Post
    There's another snag in the example, depending on how you interpret the Henchman ability of the Demon Roach King. It says "Moves to the bottom of any battle stack", but there are different ways that could be done, and I don't know of any official examples the demonstrate which way is supposed to be standard. This example seems to ignore that part of the Henchman ability entirely.
    I play that the deck is played as in the book, with the card order inverted during battle stacking, then, when it gets reordered for the actual fight, the henchmen move, one at a time in the order they are encountered, to the bottom of the deck.

    Thanks for responding,

    Steve
    So it's psionic, so what? We can take it down lads!

    Lads?

  11. - Top - End - #551
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Roxysteve's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Two wishes for the excellent OOTS game.

    1) If the monster type icon and name were printed on both the top *and* the bottom of each card, battle stack building would be easier because you'd be able to see all the relevant information by fanning the cards "up' as they are played. As they are printed now, you need to see both ends of each card to assess supports.

    2) If the rules were formatted in the old Avalon Hill style Case System (a sort of highly indexed, print database organised in game turn sequence with built-in drill-down for detail as needed), they would be ever so much easier to use in the heat of a game. I can never find the rules I need even when the index has an entry for whatever point of order is causing a frank exchange of views, because I never know whether the issue is in the page or lurking in a sidebar.

    Lest ye think I be pickin' on the OOTS:TDOD design team, I love the game and I think the design concept is sound but that it could be improved without changing it with a few tweaks.

    I'm looking forward to the time I can actually play as a member of The Linear Guild too. Roll on that expansion.
    So it's psionic, so what? We can take it down lads!

    Lads?

  12. - Top - End - #552
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Roxysteve's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by PePe_QuiCoSE View Post
    Some abilities apply, some do not: bloodlust does not but impervious does. Think about what abilities activate before battle and after battle and it gives you a good idea of the ones that apply even with insufficient range. I don't remember the official ruling, but i play that outsmart does.
    And not forgetting that Belkar always ends up in the room *with* the monster after a ranged attack, which might trigger some effects that other players wouldn't see.

    Steve.
    So it's psionic, so what? We can take it down lads!

    Lads?

  13. - Top - End - #553
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    PePe QuiCoSE's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Argentina
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by voldan View Post
    If you put the new monsters on the bottom and roaches always go to the bottom but only when they are played then what is the difference between them and normal monsters?
    Roaches go to the bottom of the stack even if other monsters are played into the battle after they were placed; they go to the bottom and stay there. Every monster played after the roaches go below the already played monsters and above the roaches.
    solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
    AKA Yakkul

  14. - Top - End - #554
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2010

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    When can you use the 'discard loot' for its effects?

    One of our members had died, and yet he wanted to instantly use his potion to heal himself. We denied it to him, claiming that loots may only be discarded as if you equip/unequipped the item.

    Were we right?

  15. - Top - End - #555
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Zelthax's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I'm pretty sure the only thing you can do when fleeing the dungeon is flee.

    Regardless of xp, potions, Gourd of Speed, anything, you must move three spaces towards the dungeon exit dropping loot until you get there.
    So you were right to deny him the heal.
    Otherwise, you do not have to have Loot equipped to discard it. You can discard at any time (unless overruled by higher priority events such as fleeing).
    (Insert fancy Signature here.)
    Avatar created by Zelthax

  16. - Top - End - #556
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    OrcBarbarianGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, UK

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Hi, I've got a situation where deciding at what point Demon Roaches scuttle down to the back of deck seems to make a potentially significant difference:

    Given a new level 3 room with the following 3 cards on the Battle Stack so far:

    1. Demon Roach King on top (Horde: +1 battle size per supporting card)
    2. Demon Roach (supporting king)
    3. Demon Roach (supporting king)


    From there, the King is supported by 2 Roach henchmen, so the battle size should increase by +2 to 5.

    If you play 'build the stack, then move the roaches', we might wind up with this stack:

    1. Demon Roach King on top (Horde: +1 battle size per supporting card)
    2. Demon Roach (supporting king)
    3. Demon Roach (supporting king)
    4. Zz'dtri (Has Linear Guild support ability, so could be supported by henchmen)
    5. Deeply Uninteresting Kobold (I probably made him up)


    Then, having reached a battle size of 5, move the roaches to end up with Zz'dtri, Kobold, Roach King, Roach, Roach, with the 3 Roaches now supporting Zz'dtri.

    However, if you keep the roaches at the bottom of the stack as you're building it, and play Zz'dtri into the stack giving:

    1. Zz'dtri on top
    2. Demon Roach King (supporting Zz'dtri)
    3. Demon Roach (supporting Zz'dtri)
    4. Demon Roach (supporting Zz'dtri)


    This now means the Roach King has no support, so do we 'cancel' building the horde and stop at 4, or do we honor the earlier goal of 'Battle Size is now 5' and continue? (I've simplified this a bit - my actual situation has two other roaches in a different room, so the difference is potentially a stack of 4 vs a stack of 7)

    The former (build, then scuttle) approach seems to make sense to me as there's no ambiguity involved.

  17. - Top - End - #557
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Zelthax's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    This is a common issue, and my group had issues dealing with it, so we just made a ground-rule. I'm not sure if this is exactly right, but it stops confusion, and that's all we really ever ask for.

    While it seems simple to build the stack then move roaches to the bottom, things get tricky if anything else in the stack has the horde ability. Not because it's hard to count, but because the roaches can increase the size again, and if more support is added, you have to recount when the roaches are moved to the bottom, and so on.

    I usually will play demon roaches "bottom up" when it comes to this issue- immediately place the roaches at the bottom of the deck (keeping order straight in case of demon roach king). It's a bit more to handle at first, but it avoids double counting since all cards above the roaches are immediately supported, increasing battle size as necessary. It also helps players who are playing monsters into the stack to know the support from the roaches (it's easy to forget the roaches are #3 in a stack of 9 when you're playing card #8).

    ------As I have finished typing this, I realize that your case concerns the "Only support the top card" rule fix, which my group doesn't use. In that case, I'm not really sure. Sorry about that. I could speculate, though! I'm good at that!
    (Insert fancy Signature here.)
    Avatar created by Zelthax

  18. - Top - End - #558
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    OrcBarbarianGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, UK

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Apologies, I should have made it clearer that I was talking about the above situation as it related to the modified support rules from the errata - your last line made me smile, as I'd been thinking "But but but only the topmost monster gets supported" whilst reading your reply up until that point.

    Thinking about the original rules, since everyone is supported by everyone else on the floor that qualifies, regardless of stack position, it shouldn't actually make any difference to the final stack when the roaches are moved I don't think, so whatever makes it easier to keep track of, as you suggest, seems best.

    Mind you, on my first couple of games, I kept forgetting both that support was provided by everyone on the same floor, and that it could come from higher up the same stack too... doh.

  19. - Top - End - #559
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Zelthax's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions


    Well, in order to prevent a perpetual-battle-size-increase scenario, my group has always played that:

    Every card is supported by all cards on the floor and all cards beneath it. It seems to make more sense in Role-playing (monsters that are attacking(on top) get support from those backing it up, and cards that aren't attacking don't need support) as well as in gameplay use (cards shouldn't get supported by cards higher up in the stack because when you finally get to fight a monster in the middle of a stack, the top monsters are dead!).

    This doesn't particularly affect the roach situation, except in the case of the roach king. The only issues you run into with this rule is when Elan pushes monsters around with his Illusion (we apply standard Area-attack), but by that point, the stack is already formed, and the "pushed" monster therefore supports the next monster on the stack it left, and is supported by all the monsters underneath its new stack, should there be any (but that didn't change).

    It's a nice little rule-mod that hasn't failed us yet!
    (Insert fancy Signature here.)
    Avatar created by Zelthax

  20. - Top - End - #560
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    RangerGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Situation: Screw This card "Recurring Villain" is played on a monster from the Xykon Deck just after it was defeated. Where does the recurring monster go?

    I see four options for how this situation could be handled.

    (1) Put that monster into the battle deck. Problem: the monster will be obvious because it has a black Xykon Deck back rather than a brown Battle Deck card.

    (2) Put the monster back into the Xykon deck. Problem 1: the screw this card says to put it back into the Battle Deck. Problem 2: adding an extra monster to the Xykon Deck can lead to a situation where you explore all the rooms in Xykon's Lair, but don't find Xykon.

    (3) Discard the monster. Problem: the monster cannot possibly recur.

    (4) Forbid use of Recurring Villain on any monster that came from the Xykon Deck. Problem: the card says "any player defeats a Monster (other than Xykon)", not "... (other than a monster from the Xykon Deck)".

    Would anyone like to make a ruling (or a suggestion) on which option should apply?

  21. - Top - End - #561
    Giant in the Playground Administrator
     
    The Giant's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by magneticmagnum View Post
    When can you use the 'discard loot' for its effects?

    One of our members had died, and yet he wanted to instantly use his potion to heal himself. We denied it to him, claiming that loots may only be discarded as if you equip/unequipped the item.

    Were we right?
    Sort of.

    You were right in that he could not discard the potion after he lost his last Wound, because once you lose your last Wound you can do nothing but flee the dungeon. However, you can discard Loot for the printed effect on the Loot card at any point before losing that last Wound, even on another player's turn. The only time you are limited to when you can discard Loot is when you are trading it for shticks.

    Quote Originally Posted by sierraindigo View Post
    Hi, I've got a situation where deciding at what point Demon Roaches scuttle down to the back of deck seems to make a potentially significant difference:

    Given a new level 3 room with the following 3 cards on the Battle Stack so far:

    1. Demon Roach King on top (Horde: +1 battle size per supporting card)
    2. Demon Roach (supporting king)
    3. Demon Roach (supporting king)


    From there, the King is supported by 2 Roach henchmen, so the battle size should increase by +2 to 5.

    If you play 'build the stack, then move the roaches', we might wind up with this stack:

    1. Demon Roach King on top (Horde: +1 battle size per supporting card)
    2. Demon Roach (supporting king)
    3. Demon Roach (supporting king)
    4. Zz'dtri (Has Linear Guild support ability, so could be supported by henchmen)
    5. Deeply Uninteresting Kobold (I probably made him up)


    Then, having reached a battle size of 5, move the roaches to end up with Zz'dtri, Kobold, Roach King, Roach, Roach, with the 3 Roaches now supporting Zz'dtri.

    However, if you keep the roaches at the bottom of the stack as you're building it, and play Zz'dtri into the stack giving:

    1. Zz'dtri on top
    2. Demon Roach King (supporting Zz'dtri)
    3. Demon Roach (supporting Zz'dtri)
    4. Demon Roach (supporting Zz'dtri)


    This now means the Roach King has no support, so do we 'cancel' building the horde and stop at 4, or do we honor the earlier goal of 'Battle Size is now 5' and continue? (I've simplified this a bit - my actual situation has two other roaches in a different room, so the difference is potentially a stack of 4 vs a stack of 7)

    The former (build, then scuttle) approach seems to make sense to me as there's no ambiguity involved.
    Scuttling always happens immediately. Demon Roaches scuttle to the back of the pile after each and every monster played into the room, so that you may as well place the new monster between the last non-roach and the first roach for ease.

    So, the latter option is the intent of the Rules Fix from the Faq: Yes, it undercuts the Demon Roach King's ability to be supported, but cutting down on crazy Hordes was part of the point of the fix.

    As to the question of do you "honor" the earlier Battle Size, the answer is no. At any point when the Battle Size dictated for the room (after taking into account Leader, Horde, etc.) is smaller than the actual number of Monsters currently in that room, stop playing Monsters immediately--the battle stack is finished.

    So, in your example, we would be finished with a stack of Zz'dtri and three roaches.

    Quote Originally Posted by djk View Post
    Situation: Screw This card "Recurring Villain" is played on a monster from the Xykon Deck just after it was defeated. Where does the recurring monster go?

    I see four options for how this situation could be handled.

    (1) Put that monster into the battle deck. Problem: the monster will be obvious because it has a black Xykon Deck back rather than a brown Battle Deck card.

    (2) Put the monster back into the Xykon deck. Problem 1: the screw this card says to put it back into the Battle Deck. Problem 2: adding an extra monster to the Xykon Deck can lead to a situation where you explore all the rooms in Xykon's Lair, but don't find Xykon.

    (3) Discard the monster. Problem: the monster cannot possibly recur.

    (4) Forbid use of Recurring Villain on any monster that came from the Xykon Deck. Problem: the card says "any player defeats a Monster (other than Xykon)", not "... (other than a monster from the Xykon Deck)".

    Would anyone like to make a ruling (or a suggestion) on which option should apply?
    Option #3. While it does make the title of the card somewhat inaccurate, it is the least problematic solution. Just assume that they'll recur in the next game you play rather than later in this one.
    Rich Burlew


    Utterly Dwarfed, the sixth compilation of The Order of the Stick is now in stock. Order at Ookoodook (paper copies) or Gumroad (digital PDFs), or pick it up from your local gaming store.

  22. - Top - End - #562
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    After a Leaping Attack into another room, can Belkar continue battling monsters in his new room? The rules say (p15) "You may not continue to battle additional Monsters if you made a Ranged Attack into a room; you must be in the same room as the Monsters in order to continue." The first part, taken exactly as stated, would prohibit Belkar from continuing, since a Leaping Attack into another room is a ranged attack. But the second part sounds like the rule was written without Leaping Attack in mind.

    A) How do people play this? B) Can TheGiant or apegamer chime in with the official word?

  23. - Top - End - #563
    Giant in the Playground Administrator
     
    The Giant's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by prj View Post
    After a Leaping Attack into another room, can Belkar continue battling monsters in his new room? The rules say (p15) "You may not continue to battle additional Monsters if you made a Ranged Attack into a room; you must be in the same room as the Monsters in order to continue." The first part, taken exactly as stated, would prohibit Belkar from continuing, since a Leaping Attack into another room is a ranged attack. But the second part sounds like the rule was written without Leaping Attack in mind.

    A) How do people play this? B) Can TheGiant or apegamer chime in with the official word?
    No, you may not continue battling Monsters in the same room. It says so right in the third sentence in the text of Leaping Attack: "You may not battle additional Monsters or players in that room until your next turn, though you may pick up Loot if there are no Monsters."

    The rule was written without Leaping Attack in mind because Leaping Attack is an exception to the rule. The text on the card specifically states how this works, though, so it shouldn't be a problem.
    Rich Burlew


    Utterly Dwarfed, the sixth compilation of The Order of the Stick is now in stock. Order at Ookoodook (paper copies) or Gumroad (digital PDFs), or pick it up from your local gaming store.

  24. - Top - End - #564
    Giant in the Playground Administrator
     
    The Giant's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    From a lot earlier in the thread:

    Quote Originally Posted by Vix View Post
    Question:
    A player sets off a trap with a range sufficient to reach another player who was resting. I've been playing that the resting player suffers the -4 defense penalty even though it's "evading" and not "defending". This makes it impossible to beat most of the traps in this way though those traps were already very difficult to evade. It seems to me that it's in the spirit of resting though not everyone agrees on this.
    Are there any rules to evading whilst resting that I have missed somewhere?
    There should be no penalty to the Evade roll for resting.

    Avoiding traps is difficult enough and resting has enough penalties associated with it as-is. Further, the resting penalty to Defense is included largely as a PvP incentive (to allow a player who is lagging a chance to catch up by mugging a more powerful player), since it rarely comes up in Player vs. Monster combat. Since players have no control over where and when Traps are sprung, there's no real strategy added to the game by including a penalty except to make resting even riskier, which is counter to our aims.
    Rich Burlew


    Utterly Dwarfed, the sixth compilation of The Order of the Stick is now in stock. Order at Ookoodook (paper copies) or Gumroad (digital PDFs), or pick it up from your local gaming store.

  25. - Top - End - #565
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    ClericGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    We were playing last weekend, and had an interesting situation. Elan was ahead of us by a lot, and ended up heading to Xykon's level first. On his second turn in the level, he moved into a new room and battled a monster who was way above what he had expected. He also didn't have any support from other characters. So, he decided to use his Poorly Planned Illusion to avoid a hit.

    The problem is, the only adjacent room was the Safe Room. Now, the text is similar to the Room of Horrible Death for Other People, which we normally allow monsters to be moved into, but the Safe Room is supposed to be safe, right? We ended up moving the horde to the safe room anyway, and it turned out not to be a problem (Xykon was defeated shortly after)

    Did we do this right, should the Safe Room be kept Safe?

    Thanks
    "My doctor says that I have a malformed public-duty gland and a natural deficiency in moral fibre, and that I am therefore excused from saving Universes."

  26. - Top - End - #566
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisFortyTwo View Post
    So, he decided to use his Poorly Planned Illusion to avoid a hit.

    The problem is, the only adjacent room was the Safe Room.
    I think that's fine. The Battle Size being zero means that no new battles can be started there, but it doesn't stop monsters from being moved into that room.

  27. - Top - End - #567
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    runescaper123's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2010

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    If two monster cards with the henchman ability are played, which goes at the bottom?

    EG:two cards and 1 cards are played. since both cards have the henchman ability, in which order does need to face them?

  28. - Top - End - #568
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Zelthax's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Er, they should be the same Atk and Def, etc...so it doesn't matter, really...

    However, the "Immediate Scuttle" should place each Henchmen at the bottom of the current pile. So, with Nale and Roach #1 and Roach#2, the play goes as follows:

    Nale is played.
    Roach#1 is played, goes to bottom.
    Roach#2 is played, goes to bottom.

    Stack is:

    Nale
    Roach#1
    Roach#2
    (Insert fancy Signature here.)
    Avatar created by Zelthax

  29. - Top - End - #569
    Orc in the Playground
     
    MindFlayer

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    In the playground

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    So this came up a few pages ago and never got resolved, is the lack of X's and coins on the Guard Monster intentional or an error?

    Do you have to flip Fearless Leader in order to not believe in the power of Banjo?
    Quote Originally Posted by Thajocoth View Post
    I wonder if, when the comic eventually ends, people on the boards will continue for several years to say that it's not actually over yet...

  30. - Top - End - #570
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    PePe QuiCoSE's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Argentina
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    AFAIK is intentional.
    On the Fearless Leader i think in the card is written "assist", not erm... cooperate or something so it only applies to that aspect, that mechanic.
    solo tú sabes bien quien soy y por eso es tuyo mi corazón
    AKA Yakkul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •