Results 61 to 90 of 619
Thread: Rules Questions
-
2006-09-07, 06:53 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Dec 2005
- Location
- within a light year
- Gender
-
2006-09-07, 09:18 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jul 2006
- Location
- Billings, Montana
Re: Rules Questions
On page 21 of the Rulebook.
You may turn in as many Monsters as you wish at one time. You gain one shtick draw for every 3 x symbols.
I assume that means you draw three shticks, choose one, put the other two on the bottom of your shtick deck, then draw the top three shticks on the deck after putting the other two on the bottom... choose one of the new three, and put the other two under the first "other two"... continue doing so.
I'm assuming you were asking if you could choose 2 or even all of the three cards drawn when you trade in monsters...
And of course... maybe I shouldn't even be replying, as I've only read the rules (over and over and over and over... and over) and not played the game yet.
-
2006-09-07, 11:27 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2006
- Location
- The Middle of Nowhere
- Gender
-
2006-09-07, 11:30 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Dec 2005
- Location
- within a light year
- Gender
-
2006-09-08, 12:17 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jul 2006
- Location
- Billings, Montana
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by tgva8889
If you had 3 "2 XP" monsters, you'd have a total of 6 XP... you need 3 to get a new shtick... so 6/3=2... thus you'd be able to draw two shticks seperately.
Now, if you had a 3 XP monster and 2 "2 XP" monsters... you'd have 3+2+2=7. If you turned in all THREE of THOSE monsters to the Battle Deck Discard Pile, you'd get 2 shticks (for 6 of the 7 XP) and the last XP would be lost, as you had to discard the monster with the "extra" XP point that you didn't use.
THAT is what they mean by "not getting change".
At least... I'm about 99% sure that's what they mean.
Edit: Added emphasis on "those"
-
2006-09-08, 05:15 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Augusta, GA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Justin_Miller
-
2006-09-08, 09:19 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Dec 2005
- Location
- within a light year
- Gender
-
2006-09-08, 09:44 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Traveling_Angel
Heck, I don't need to check back here so often, looks like this is pretty well under control!
;)Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-09-11, 09:18 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2004
- Location
- Xenia, Ohio
Re: Rules Questions
Does Xykon start at the top of the battle stack when he appears in the game or does he move to the back? I can come up with a good reason for both, but I was wondering if there was an official word in the rules book and I am just not seeing it.
"Talk is cheap. Whiskey costs money" - Corwin, Prince of Amber
-
2006-09-11, 01:49 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2006
- Location
- Houston
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Kaertos
Note: This is true for all Xykon Monster cards (not just the Xykon card). As the first card played into the room, the Xykon Monster card always goes at the top of the battle stack and is therefore encountered first in battle.
The only thing different about battling Xykon is that you never actually get to fight the other monsters in that room. When Xykon is defeated, the dungeon begins to collapse and the other monsters in the room immediately flee the dungeon.
-
2006-09-15, 04:21 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
OK, I have not played the game, only read the rulebook online, but I have a couple of questions. I'm pretty sure I know the answers, but I figured it's better to ask, so these can be added to the FAQ if deemed appropriate.
1. If I'm not in the same square as a monster, do I care that it has flying? In particular, if I'm in the square next to it and have a range of 1, is it in range, or is it effectively one square over, one square "up"? My interpretation of flying is "if range is 0, require a ranged weapon but treat as a normal attack for all effects; otherwise, absolutely no change." I'm curious if I'm right, though.
2. If a creature has both flying and tricky, and I'm in the same square as it and shooting with a ranged weapon, does it get the +10 bonus on Defense? The rules suggest that it does not (even though it's a ranged weapon, and you're required to use a ranged weapon to hit, it's still not a ranged attack), but I figured a direct answer would be a good idea.
Edit: Maybe I was misinterpreting things...reading the FAQ, it sounds like flying basically adds +1 to range for all effects. Is this accurate?
-
2006-09-17, 11:08 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by rwald
All Flying does is prevent players from using a Shtick that has a listed Range of 0 when fighting that monster. Since you already can't attack a monster at Range > 0 unless your shtick has a listed Range > 0, Flying status has no actual effect on ranged attacks.
Originally Posted by rwald
Originally Posted by rwald
EDIT: I went back and read the FAQ; I disagree with the response stating that Sneak Attack cannot work at Range 0 against a Flying monster. The text of Sneak Attack says that it works at Range 0, and if you are in the same room with a Monster, you have a Range of 0. Period. Whether or not the Monster has Flying is irrelevent. Flying has exactly one game effect: to prevent the use of Shticks with a listed Range of 0. Sneak Attack does not have a listed Range score of 0; it does not have a listed Range score AT ALL--because it is not a Battle Shtick. Therefore, Sneak Attack should still work against a Flying monster at Range 0 with Haley's Longbow.
The answer regarding the Leap Attack is still accurate, because Leap Attack actually changes the Range score of Twin Daggers of Doom.
-
2006-09-29, 12:31 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Ottawa,Ontario
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Here's a question I couldn't find an answer to:
In a player versus player battle,the winner gets to take an equipped loot from the other player or a random loot from your loot stash if you don't have equipped loot. After this, in the aftermath, you have to give any promised loot to anyone who helped you in the combat. Is the loot that was promised by the losing character to the assisting characters off limits, or can the winner take loot that was supposed to go to another character? If the winner does get to take loot that was supposed to go to another character, what happens then?
Same question, but for when you lose against a monster who has the theif ability.
Arcade
-
2006-09-29, 01:27 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Arcade
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-09-29, 02:34 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Ottawa,Ontario
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by apegamer
"If you offered loot to any other player (active or NPC) for assistance in battle, you must now give that Loot to those players- whether you won or lost the battle."
It makes it sound like you don't give out loot until after the battle is done. But your answer works a lot better and takes care of any of these conflicts.
Thanks.
Arcade
-
2006-09-29, 02:43 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Arcade
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-09-29, 04:51 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Ottawa,Ontario
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by apegamer
Arcade
-
2006-10-02, 10:03 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Schtick turn-in?
Do you pick a random Schtick from the pile or do you search through the deck and pick the one you want?
-
2006-10-02, 11:28 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Doughboy120
If you gain a schtick in any other way (trading in loot with three drool factor, a room effect or Screw This! effect, etc), you must take the top schtick in the pile.
For future referance, this information is found on page 21 of the rulebook :)
-
2006-10-03, 02:59 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2006
- Location
- West Virginia
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Okay here is the situation from last night. Haley was in the middle of the second floor. Elan moved into a new room three rooms to the left of Haley and three monsters (first one had leadership, the second is flying) are discovered and Elan hides. Belkar moves into a room two rooms to the right of Haley and two monsters are discovered and Belkar loses his roll. Then when Haley’s turn rolled around she ranged attacked the three monsters in Elan’s room defeating them with her +4 range attack. She then attacks the two monsters in Belkar’s room defeating them as well.
So here are the questions:
Can she attack more than one monster in Elan’s stack with her range attack?
Can she attack both stacks with her range attack?
Does she need +3 or +4 to range to attack a flying creature three rooms away? .
I searched through the threads and did not find my answer to the first two. The third seems to be +4 but while I was asking . . .
-
2006-10-03, 07:25 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
I had a question regarding fleeing as it's explained in the rulebook. The example and the official text seem to conflict.
In the text, it says that the person fleeing immediately drops loot and then immediately moves 3 spaces, even on someone else's turn.
However, in the example, Elan enters "fleeing mode", drops an item of loot, but does not move three spaces until it's his NEXT turn.
So which one is correct?
-
2006-10-03, 10:18 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Ottawa,Ontario
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Panzar_NSidious
You may not continue to battle additional monsters if you make a Ranged Attack into a room; you must be in the same room as the Monsters in order to continue.
This should answer questions 1 and 2.Arcade
-
2006-10-04, 04:07 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
How many duplicate unique monsters are there? I know Redcloak appears twice, but how often does the "if a second unique monster is placed, the first one is discarded" rule actually get used?
-
2006-10-04, 04:20 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by fngkestrel
Unfortunately, there is no "official" rule on this. My group uses the house rule that you must flee as quickly as normal movement would allow. If it is your turn, and you have not yet moved, you drop a loot and flee, otherwise you must wait until your next turn (as it is either not your turn or you've already exhausted your movement).
-
2006-10-04, 09:56 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I have not abandoned this topic. Once we get out from under the Pre-Order Shipping Monster (Attack: 18, Defence: 18, Impervious, Enchanted, Support - Everything) I'll be back in full force.
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-10-04, 10:31 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Boston, MA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Panzar_NSidious
-
2006-10-04, 11:42 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Lawrence, Kansas
Re: Rules Questions
I would like some clarification on a couple of screw this cards.
On the "I forgot they could do that" card being used on a Leader or Horde ability: Which monsters are removed? The last ones played or the next ones played after the leader/horde trigger?
On the Screw this cards that grant a +3 to one type of monster, can that be played AFTER a roll of the dice to cause a win to become a loss? I understand there is a +1 card that can change the result of a battle, but the +3 card doesn't say one way or the other.
Thank you, by the way, for a very fun game, I look forward to the expansions.
-
2006-10-04, 03:49 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
- Upstate NY
looking for clarification on Assistance
Hiya, Just opened my shiny new pre-order of the OotS Game, and I seek clarification on giving Assistance.
The description of what you can do while Attacking a monster implies characters who render Assistance lose a turn. However, I can't find another mention of the consequences of rendering Assistance in the rules (be nice to have that as a heading somewhere).
So, is that so? Do characters who render Assistance lose a turn?
edit: 5:07 pm — I see now where I was confused, for the want of an appropriately placed pause. "You may ask any other player on the same floor as you who is not resting or missing a turn for assistance." When I read that, I didn't pause right, and saw "missing a turn for assistance" as meaning someone who had assisted would miss a turn. A comma between you and who, and another between turn and for would have helped. But I get it now.
Thanks,
Q
-
2006-10-04, 04:14 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Ottawa,Ontario
- Gender
Re: looking for clarification on Assistance
Originally Posted by qhudspeth
Arcade
-
2006-10-05, 01:03 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Mac13eth
As for the +3 cards, ("Arm Zombies" for example,) since they do not explicitly state that they can be played after the dice are rolled, then it is assumed they can't. As a general rule, when one card explicitly states that it can do something, assume other cards can't (unless they also state they can, obviously).