Results 91 to 120 of 619
Thread: Rules Questions
-
2006-10-06, 12:02 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Dec 2005
- Location
- within a light year
- Gender
-
2006-10-06, 12:52 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Traveling_Angel
Flying prevents the use of schticks with a range of 0 from being used. Twin Daggers of Doom has a range of 0. The fact it is being modified by another card doesn't matter, the printed range is 0.
Flying is meant to represent the need for a -ranged weapon- to fight the monster. Leaping Attack represents belkar's ability to leap into battle unexpectedly, but is by no stretch of the imagination is a ranged attack.
-
2006-10-06, 08:00 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Ottawa,Ontario
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Fujin
Arcade
-
2006-10-06, 08:53 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Arcade
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-10-06, 06:09 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2005
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Based on Rich's comments on page 5, will the FAQ get revised? He says that he disagrees with the FAQ that Sneak Attack will not work on Flying creatures.
Flying (according to Rich) is only supposed to affect what "range" of an attack can be in order to be successful.
-
2006-10-06, 11:33 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Sothicus
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-10-07, 09:37 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- May 2006
- Location
- Charging down on the windmills
Re: Rules Questions
Okay, we started playing our first game last night and hit a snag.
When do you draw more cards into your battle hand?If I knew what I was doing, would I still be doing it?
-
2006-10-07, 12:37 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Johan
-
2006-10-09, 01:00 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2005
Re: Rules Questions
Two rules questions came up in our latest game of OotS:
The rules (say you can start in a room, pick up one Loot, move, and fight in another room – and if you clear that room , you can pick up up to two more Loot. However, Haley’s “Come to Me, My Pretties” schtick says, “As always, you may pick Loot only once per turn.” Which is correct?
The second rules question is a bit trickier. I guess I’ll explain the situation first:
I’m the first one down into Xykon’s lair, and have found him. Thanks to various supporting monsters already on this level, the Battle Size starts at 12…. and keeps getting bigger as we play more monsters. Pretty soon, Xykon’s stats are into the stratosphere, because of his Support: Assist ability. But then, on one of my Battle Deck redraws (I have to play monsters into this fight too, after all), I pull “Screw this! I Forgot They Could Do That” – and play it immediately to cancel Support: Assist and bring Xykon’s Attack value down to 16. We keep playing monsters – there end up being 49 in the stack. Since they’re not Supporting him, however, I manage to kill him. Without the ‘I Forgot…’, his Attack would have been over 50 – way out of my range.
Now, I’m wondering if that was entirely legal, even though the other players let me do it. The ‘I Forgot…’ card says “When any player (including you) is battling a Monster.” Since we were still busy populating the room, was I battling Xykon yet? If I’d had to wait until the monster stack was completed, I would have had to discard the ‘I Forgot’ card before I could have used it, in order to draw more Monster cards.
-
2006-10-09, 01:38 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Moebius
Or, in brief, the battle-loot isn't considered "loot you pick up." Its bonus :).
Originally Posted by Moebius
"I forgot they could do that" lets you ignore an ability the monster has. Abilities are things listed in the back of the rulebook, such as Flying, Bloodlust, Leader, or Invulnerable. Support is not an ability, its a characteristic of the monster, same as its attack rating.
However, what would have been a legal play would have been to play "I forgot..." on Xykon's Horde ability, which would have immediately reduced the battle size to 5, (4th lair + Leader). Any monster beyond the 5th would be discarded, and Xykon's Attack and Defense would have been quite manageable for you :).
But yes, you can play "I forgot" during the "Play Monster Step", as its still within the combat section of the rules.
Hope that helps!
-
2006-10-09, 02:01 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- May 2005
- Location
- TX
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Fujin
"Roy immediately picks up the top two, as his bonus for killing the last Monster. He cannot pick up a third, even though he did not pick up any Loot before moving."
Why not?? ???
Another question: Is picking up Loot the only thing that you can't do BOTH at the beginning AND end of your turn? For example, could I equip Loot at the beginning of my turn, move, battle, collect loot, and then equip Loot again? Could I do the same thing with turning in monsters for shticks?
Thanks for this thread and the FAQ! They've answered a lot of my other questions (like about flying) already.
edit: I thought of another one. With a 2-player game, the first player adds 2 monsters to the battle stack and then the second player adds one if the battle size is 3 or more. If it's more than 3, does it keep alternating 2-1-2-1-2-1... or does the first player only play 2 monsters the first time so the order is 2-1-1-1-1...?
-
2006-10-09, 10:39 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions.
Originally Posted by anarce
Originally Posted by Krago
-
2006-10-10, 05:08 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
My group played our first round of OOTSBG tonight.
We ran into a problem, since we had only five players. We played without Elan. The rules do not state that we should remove loot that Elan drools over. Should we remove it, or keep it in the game and make it worthless until points are counted in the end? Generally, I would prefer to remove loot that Elan drools over, but how far should we go? Should we remove loot that ONLY Elan drools over, or loot that Elan as well as other PCs drool over?
I also felt that on the whole, Durkon was rather disadvantaged. The way I read Cure Assorted Wounds particularly bothered me. Opon boosting Cure Assorted Wounds once, Durkon heals for 2 points and takes one loot. This seems good, since people will be more likely to agree to let Durkon heal them in exchange for loot. However, a twice boosted Cure Assorted Wounds heals three points and provides Durkon with one loot. This seems to actually be a worse deal for Durkon, as healing for three points does not actually give Durkon much of an advantage. Was the amount of loot Durkon recieves meant to change or not?
-
2006-10-10, 06:40 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2005
- Location
- USA
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Vojoc
-
2006-10-10, 11:30 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- May 2005
- Location
- TX
Re: Rules Questions
Thanks for the reply, Gamer5389, but Krago's reply doesn't quite answer the question. The rulebook seems to contradict itself.
Page 15 says that picking up 2 loot for killing a monster is a bonus, and I can still pick up loot at the end of my turn.
Page 25 in the example says that Roy can't pick up loot at the end of his turn.
Which one is correct?
-
2006-10-10, 02:09 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2006
- Location
- Indianapolis
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Fujin
-
2006-10-10, 03:46 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2006
- Location
- Indianapolis
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by apegamer
-
2006-10-10, 03:49 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Boston, MA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Vojoc
(2) Depends on your Durkon strategy. :)
(a) When all three are unflipped, it's certainly in Durkon's favor to use it on himself. And although you MAY accept any loot, there's nothing wrong with "holding out" for a good loot offer . . . (i.e. I'll cure your 3 assorted wounds . . . what exactly are you offering?) [As Durkon, I feel it's okay to "insist" that the drool factor of the loot offered equal the number of wounds healed.]
(b) Although it may seem out of character, if players are being stingy with their loot-for-healing, there's nothing wrong with "teaming up" with Belkar to keep that healing in high demand. ;)
-
2006-10-10, 05:58 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Ottawa,Ontario
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by anarce
Look at page 24 under "How Much Loot Can Be Picked Up" and look at the second bullet. It specifically states you can't pick up loot in a room where you take the 2 loot bonus.
Arcade
-
2006-10-10, 06:19 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
A question about Turn Undead...I haven't encountered this in a game yet, but if Durkon were to kill Xykon with Turn Undead, I'm assuming he'd also take out every other undead monster in the stack--potentially earning bucket-loads of XP to spend on schtiks. So do all of those monsters "die" at the same time Xykon does, or do they get the chance to flee?
-
2006-10-10, 06:28 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- May 2005
- Location
- TX
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Arcade
My other questions have now fallen to the previous page of the thread, but I'd still like answers to them if anyone has them, like the 2-1-2-1 vs. 2-1-1-1 battle stack creation with 2 players. TIA!
-
2006-10-10, 08:32 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Is the intent of Haley's Second-in-Command shtick the same as Roy's party leader veto in that its only meant to be used at the beginning of your turn?
-
2006-10-10, 09:22 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Argus
-
2006-10-10, 09:33 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Boston, MA
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by bwcMD
Also, a question that seems very simple, but still is unclear to me.
Q: Can players equip loot (with their own drool factors, of course) that has no effect? Can Haley equip a Bag of Gold and have it count towards her loot to enter Xykon's Lair?
My gaming group has played so that only loot that has effects for certain players (Magic Daggers or Elveniest Boots Ever, for instance) were able to be equipped and count towards entering Xykon's lair.
Can someone clear that up for me?
ThanksWanderlust
"If it weren't for bad luck, I'd have no luck at all."
You areStable, dependable, and fond of beer.
-
2006-10-10, 10:01 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Boston, MA
Re: Rules Questions
Another question.
This one has been bouncing back and forth, and so far the answers have been references to former posts and I still don't have a black and white answer (if one exists at this time), so I'm gonna ask it straight up again, and if you know the correct answer, please help me (and the other people asking the same thing) with the answer.
Picking up loot:
I start my turn alone in a room with loot, and pick up one Loot. It's not a trap, so I keep it. I then move to an empty room and trigger a battle, killing a monster that drops 2 more Loot. Can I pick up these two loot because I killed the last monster in the room, or am I limited to picking up loot just once per turn?
Apologies for beating the dead horse, but this has a major effect on the way we play the game.
Thanks a lot!Wanderlust
"If it weren't for bad luck, I'd have no luck at all."
You areStable, dependable, and fond of beer.
-
2006-10-10, 10:16 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Ottawa,Ontario
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Wanderlust
Arcade
-
2006-10-10, 10:25 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
With Fireball, its possible that boosting a fireball could actually _hurt_ Var, by making it too hard for Var to actually kill the monsters in the stack, for example if the best of the first two monsters in the stack had 10 defense, but the third monster had 15 defense, a boost might make it so that Var killed no monsters rather than two or three. A Get Angry! card played by another player might be used to this end. Because of this, should players be able to choose between using a fireball and between a garden variety fireball, or should boosts be forced?
Additionally, the list of what you may or may not do while fleeing the dungeon does not include a ruling on trading in loot for schticks. May you or may you not?
Similarly, may someone assist another player while they are fleeing the dungeon?
If several people are dead and at the dungeon enterance while Xykon is killed how does the BR for fleeing the dungeon work? Do they get 0 because they died? Do all the people who were there when Xykon died tie? Do they retroactively get points in the order they reached the top?
Also, can a player use Poorly Planned Illusion on Xykon's stack without using it on Xykon himself?
-
2006-10-11, 12:51 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
A similar question as the previous poster, can you choose an area effect shtick but not use the area effect?
For example, using PPI against monster strong against Elan (mindless) like a normal shtick to get rid of them and then continue fighting since you didn't use the area effect.
A separate example like the fireball one above, if the first monster has a defence of 6 and the second 20, can you choose to just attack the first one?
-
2006-10-11, 08:41 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
A lot of questions that need answers! I was supposed to run these past Kevin before posting them, but it's late and he's busy shipping games, so just be aware that one or two of these might get contradicted.
Originally Posted by Moebius
Originally Posted by anarce
Originally Posted by anarce
Basically, taking the two bonus Loot prohibits you from picking up any more Loot that turn, per the second bullet point on page 24 under "How Much Loot Can Be Picked Up". The text on page 15 doesn't specifically contradict this, it merely says that the two bonus Loot is in addition to any other Loot you would get--which in this case is zero, since if you take the bonus Loot, you get no other Loot. Yes, it's an awful wording choice on my part and would be much clearer if I just deleted the phrase, "or ending" from page 15, which I imagine would qualify as errata.
Originally Posted by Wanderlust
------------------------------
Originally Posted by Vojoc
------------------------------
Originally Posted by Moebius
More to the point, the following answer is wrong:
Originally Posted by Fujin
However, it is correct that you can only cancel one of the Support Abilities, either Horde or Assist, not the entire Support concept. Once the Monsters are down and the Battle Size has been fulfilled, though, canceling Horde is essentially meaningless.
------------------------------
Originally Posted by anarce
Originally Posted by Wanderlust
------------------------------
Originally Posted by anarce
Originally Posted by Vojoc
Originally Posted by bwcMD
Turning Xykon's undead out from under him is a great strategy, by the way. You bypass Xykon's ultrahigh Defense because he cannot be affected by the card!
Originally Posted by Vojoc
Originally Posted by Vojoc
Originally Posted by Vojoc
Originally Posted by Gamer5389
------------------------------
Originally Posted by Vojoc
Originally Posted by Vojoc
-
2006-10-11, 10:09 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Boston, MA
Re: Rules Questions
Thanks for all the answers above!
A thing or two more to add/ponder:
The whole 2-1-2-1 vs 2-1-1-1 thing is answered on page 11 in the "Two-Player Game" sidebar.
It says "... whichever player isn't triggering the battle plays 2 cards the FIRST TIME their turn to play monsters comes up."
Also, Giant, in regards to using IDKTCDT to target the Horde ability, I think the Ape gamer had said somewhere else in the FAQ or on this board that if you removed the horde ability after monsters were down, the players that played the last monsters would retrieve their cards from the battle stack until the size is appropriate. Is there a particular spirit or ruling to this question you think we should play by?
Thanks again.Wanderlust
"If it weren't for bad luck, I'd have no luck at all."
You areStable, dependable, and fond of beer.