Results 151 to 180 of 619
Thread: Rules Questions
-
2006-10-16, 09:20 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Ignore this. A glitch is causing certain posts at the top of new pages to disappear.
-
2006-10-16, 09:24 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Krago
Nothing on the Swipe Schtick indicates that it is an "alternative to combat" schtick. It is a combat schtick, except its result text reads something other than "Foe takes 1 wound."
As such, I believe that Amnistar is correct in assuming that he would get 2 loot when using Swipe, since 1 loot would come from Swipe (rather than from loosing a wound as with most attack schticks), and then the additional loot which is part of any successful attack against another player.
My interpretation of the rules seems to be supported by page 17 of the rulebook, which states:
"The winning player applies the Result Text of their chosen Battle Shtick to the loser. For many Battle Shticks, this will result in 1 wound being applied to the other player. Another might cause the losing player to miss a turn or allow the winning player to draw a random Loot from the losing player's Loot Stash.
In addition, the winning player may take one equipped Loot from the losing player, of the winner's choice. This Loot is added..."
This exerpt seems to refer to this exact situation, and confirms that, indeed, two loot would be drawn. :)
-
2006-10-16, 11:03 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Dec 2005
- Location
- within a light year
- Gender
-
2006-10-17, 12:05 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Traveling_Angel
-
2006-10-17, 01:09 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2006
- Location
- Houston
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Fujin
Kudos to Fujin for catching this.
-
2006-10-17, 11:12 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Dec 2005
- Location
- within a light year
- Gender
-
2006-10-18, 09:51 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Originally Posted by Traveling_Angel
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-10-27, 06:44 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
Re: Rules Questions
I tried searching, but it seems that nothing comes up at all (even when I search for words I see that have been posted).
Lets say we are on level 1. When Redcloak is placed into battle.
Redcloak is a Leader (Battle size +1) and when supported by Goblin's has the Horde (Battle size +1 per supporting card). So, if we start with Redcloak and the additional monster I play is a Goblin, would that further expand the battle size to 3?Last edited by Valor; 2006-10-27 at 08:16 PM. Reason: found the card
-
2006-10-29, 08:04 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2005
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
Am I correct in thinking that the Outsmart example on page 31 is incorrect? Elan's Dumb As Mud shtick should make him immune to Nale's Outsmart.
-
2006-10-31, 02:19 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
-
2006-10-31, 02:30 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
Re: Rules Questions
Poorly Planned Illusion
When you move monsters to an adjacent room with more than one player in the room - when does the monster attack and who does the monster attack first?
-
2006-10-31, 04:20 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
No, these shticks flip the card with no effect, denying their owner the usage of the card until they rest.
One bonus overall per battle roll, not one per loot card given.
No. You may have won the battle, but the Monster is STILL the top Monster on the stack. The rules only allow you to battle the top Monster, requiring you to remove the previous Monster before you can battle the next one (which then becomes the new top Monster). Since Swipe doesn't move the top Monster, you can't get to the lower Monsters, and you can't battle the same Monster twice.
You can, however, defeat the top Monster with, say, Longbow, discard it, and then Swipe the second Monster.
No, that is incorrect. The rule stands no matter where the players are in relation to one another.
The purpose of the rule is not to get players to offer Loot to the PCs per se, but to prevent Player A from offering all of Player B's Loot to the NPCs, causing it to be put in the Loot discard pile and removed from play, possibly for the rest of the game if the Loot pile isn't reshuffled.
You wait until you are called on to play a Monster and can't. If you can play the Screw This! before then, you may.
Definitely.
With a Ranged Attack, you may never continue to battle Monsters. You may only make one Ranged Attack on your turn, and only against either a player or the top Monster in a room.
If you were in the same room, you would be required to fight the top Monster only. You can't battle a player on the same turn that you battle Monsters.
This is an error in the rules; you should be able to save them.
Yes, but multiple shticks DO provide the bonus listed on that shtick under "Boost".
Yup.
Monsters moved by Poorly-Planned Illusion do not attack any players in the room to which they move.
-
2006-10-31, 04:26 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
-
2006-10-31, 04:49 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Ottawa,Ontario
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Could we get a ruling on the "fleeing" rule? Specifically, when you are dropped down to 0 wounds, are you supposed to drop an item and flee immediately (as the rule states), or wait until your next turn and then drop an item and flee (as the example states)? And if it's as the example states and you lose a PvP battle on your turn, are you supposed to flee now since it is your turn or do you wait until your next turn?
I looked through here and couldn't find an answer, but if it has been answered, please let me know and give me a pointer.
ThanksArcade
-
2006-11-01, 01:17 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2005
- Location
- Spain
Re: Rules Questions
Player A on left dead-end of a full 8-room first level finds the stairs down, Then some players move down there and to the left. At this point, player C on the right edge of the first level uses a screw this card to find another set of stairs. Some players move down and to the right. Is this legal? If so, what is the range between the two halves of the second level? Can attacks be made through the "void" and does support work from one side to another? Additionally, if a set of stairs down to the third level is found on one of the halves, does the other one become a dead-end branch with no way down?
The abilities of the Force: Control, Alter, Delete.
Zombie Apocalypse if and only if Cake.
My Little Dashie made me cry.
Be the Ultimate Ninja! Play Billy Vs. SNAKEMAN today!
-
2006-11-01, 03:24 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
The way the above is stated it would make me think if you had the appropriate loot you could get a massivly high bonus being able to give multiple loot to the same and/or other people. Is this the case or is there a limitation to the bonus you can get from offering loot? (Sorry if this is in the rules, I can't remember and the game belongs to a friend I don't see often.)
Play NwN? Planning on getting NwN2?Then check out my multiplayer mod: www.noreshia.com Rper's welcome!
-
2006-11-01, 04:54 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
If you have enough loot and choose to blow it all on one battle, then you're free to do so. You can give as many cards as you want to players. You can even give multiple cards to the same player.
However, you need to think about how much loot you're going to get back, how much XP you'll be getting, and how much you want to help other players. It's all a balancing act, really.Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-11-02, 09:17 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Yes. Remember that there can only be 8 rooms per level, though, so it is probable that these two sub-levels will not meet in the middle, ever. On the other hand, if someone explores the middle area and there is a small enough gap, they WILL meet.
The range is "Not Applicable", because you cannot measure range through unexplored areas.
Attacks cannot be made, but Support (and assisting in battle) both function normally.
Yes, barring another special situation.
-
2006-11-02, 09:25 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2006
Re: Rules Questions
A few things (7).
- The stuff you can do at the start and end of your turn, can they all be done both start and end of your turn, multiple times each? This, of course, excludes loot picking and stairs searching.
- If you fight without a Shtick against a creature with Bloodlust, will you then _always_ lose?
- If you drop down to no health and start fleeing, but is forced to miss your next turn (for example, if the fight was in the restroom), What is the procedure? My guess is, that you drop a loot, flee three rooms, end turn, drop a loot, end turn, [drop a loot, flee three rooms, end turn] (repeat stuff in brackets until at dungeon entrance).
- If you're in a room full of loot, can you then get 2 loot in any other way than resting (not counting shtick's like Haley's and such)? I mean, if you don't want to suffer the defense loss when resting, but still wants to miss a turn while getting two loot?
- Unique monsters.. I'm confused. I hear Redcloak is a multiple, but is he the only one (I don't want to check the stack, I want to be surprised at the things I find)? Specifically, is the rule about unique monsters leaving if they appear somewhere else very rarely used? Or is the sentence about it on page 5 actually supposed to apply to all monsters with the same name, so no two equal monsters can exist at once (yes, the sentence can be read like that)?
- Poorly planned illusion. When you move a monster into a full room (of monsters), is the moved monster(s) placed at the bottom or top?
- The Giant posted that used Turn Undead in a battle with Xykon was a good idea, even though it didn't hurt him, as it could remove all other undead and thereby weakening Xykon. In the sidebar on page 18 though, it is stated that even though monsters can't be hurt by an area attack, they still count when determining the greatest defense modifier to fight against. Was the (not so) flawless Giant wrong?
I guess that's it. I appreciate any answers, though knowing my friends, only the authorities will be listened to.
-
2006-11-02, 10:19 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2006
Re: Rules Questions
Is there going to be a ruling on the fleeing rule? It seems like just about every other question gets answered, but for some reason this one hasn't been. Does your character flee immediately upon losing his/her last hit point whether it's your turn or not, flee immediately only on your turn, or always wait 'til your next turn, or what? Please respond to this even if it's just to say that it has not been decided. Thanks.
-
2006-11-02, 11:39 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
"You're right. If Durkon uses Big Heavy Armor against a monster with Bloodlust, and wins, then the result of the shtick (which says that the battle is a draw) means that he actually loses.
In short, don't use shticks that say the battle is a draw against monsters with Bloodlust." - apegamer
There doesn't seem to be any reason that the same shouldn't apply to battling without a shtick since the outcome is the same as one with a draw result.
For the unique rule, I believe that Redcloak is the only multiple unique card. I'd guess that the rule only applies to unique monsters since it would be ok for there to be multiple Kobold Knights in a dungeon but not multiple Nales.
-
2006-11-04, 06:46 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Yes, excluding Loot-picking-up and stair-searching, you can do any of the others as often as you wish. Meaning you can trade in Monsters for shticks at the start of your turn, then kill three Monsters, then turn in another three at the end.
Yup. Sucks, eh?
Well, the issue here isn't the missing-a-turn-while fleeing, it's the use of the Restroom. According to the rules on "Missing a Turn", when something causes you to miss a turn, you put your character on its side IMMEDIATELY. That means that when you reveal the restroom, you don't fight any Monsters in it. And only the first character to reveal the restroom misses a turn. So really, the situation you are describing cannot occur.EDIT: Whoops! Turned out I didn't know what I was talking about there, just ignore that paragraph.
Now, if you miss a turn because the Monster has Paralyze, then you are basically frozen in place. You drop the Loot, put your character on its side, and end your turn. On the next turn, you stand your character up, drop a Loot, and end your turn. On the third turn, you drop a Loot and move 3 spaces. You never move 3 spaces on a turn in which your character begins or ends on its side.
Nope. You need to take the risk in order to grab two.
It is a rarely used rule. We have plans for expanding the game, which may include alternate versions of key characters like Nale, Thog, etc. Right now, Redcloak is the only Unique monster to actually have two versions.
Top.
No, but it's a subtle distinction. The rule says that if the Monster is targeted and has an ability that would normally exampt it from being battled with as shtick, such as Enchanted, it still counts for determining the highest Defense Value.
But Xykon does NOT have an ability that exempts him; it's the Turn Undead shtick that does the exempting when it stipulates its available targets. Thus, you can use it against any Undead under Xykon without counting his Defense Value.
In the same way, you don't count the Defense values of non-Undead when using Turn Undead, because they cannot ever be targets of that shtick. Only those Monsters that COULD be targets, but are not because of a MONSTER ability are still counted for Defense value. An Enchanted Undead, for example, would still count for highest Defense Value; a Goblin, Enchanted or otherwise, would not.
OK, I thought this had been answered by apeagamer, so I'll look at it now.
The rules are 100% correct; the Example is slightly backwards.
To elaborate: You should drop the Loot and then flee on each turn, including the turn in which you lose your last Wound. The example correctly has Elan drop Loot immediately, but fails to have him flee. After that, it incorrectly puts the fleeing before the dropping. The intent was to have the player drop his first Loot under the Monster that beat him, so that the Monster would have to be killed in order to recover it. Both the and the example rules reflect this, but the Example then screws up the order after that.
As a rule of thumb during play, assume the rules trump the examples unless we've FAQ/errata'd something. Feel free to keep asking, though, since its the only way we'll see mistakes.
-
2006-11-04, 07:31 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2006
Re: Rules Questions
Thank you for the answers, Giant, though I would like some clarification on one of them (as I disagree).
The restroom doesn't work like that. It causes you to miss a turn _after_ fighting monsters (Quote: "The first player to enter this room loses a turn - after battling any Monsters."), which is what makes it somewhat confusing. Based on your answer, I'd say it would go like this:
1 - Enter restroom, fight-lose-die, drop loot, lay character on the side.
2 - Drop loot, stand character.
3 - Drop loot (third in the same room now), move three rooms.
4 - Drop loot, move three rooms.
5 - Repeat 4 until arriving at dungeon entrance.
Your answer raises another question though. After resting, do you miss the turn in which you unflip shticks as well? Is this right:
1 - Player choses to rest before doing anything else, lays character down.
2 - Unflips shticks, heals a wound and stands character up.
3 - Player can now do whatever.
Or in a different wording, does resting cause you to do nothing else (moving or battling) for two turns? The rules aren't very clear on whether or not your turn ends after unflipping shticks.
Thanks in advance.
-
2006-11-05, 03:49 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Crap, I knew I should have dug through and gotten the Restroom card out and read it. In that case, yes, your sequence is correct (it's exactly the same as if the missed turn was die to Paralyze).
In the interest of not confusing anyone else, I'll strike it from my previous response.
Your sequence is correct, because Resting and Missing a Turn work differently. Resting a turn needs to be declared at the start of your turn, so the turn you "miss" is that one, while Missing a Turn usually happens at the end of a turn in which you did something--battled or moved or whatever.
No, only one, as above.
Perhaps, but the example says that Roy has to make a decision about resting again on that same turn, something he could not do if his turn was over. Also, standing up and unflipping is listed as something you do "at the start of your turn" in the beginning of the rules, not instead of your turn.
-
2006-11-05, 03:28 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Ottawa,Ontario
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I have a question regarding "Eternal Gratitude"
- When using "Eternal Gratitude", does this let you reclaim only 1 loot card from the person you offered loot to, or can you reclaim all loot you offered to them in this battle?
And since I'm asking questions, does V's Protective Spell or Durkon's Sturdy Shield prevent only 1 wound taken in an attack, or all wounds (if attacked by Belkar's boosted Twin Daggers, for instance)? I'm assuming only 1, but it wouldn't be the first time I misread a card.
PS. Thanks for clarification on the fleeing rule, Giant.Last edited by Arcade; 2006-11-05 at 03:29 PM. Reason: afterthought
Arcade
-
2006-11-06, 09:34 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2006
- Location
- Sydney
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I have a question regarding one of Roy's shticks.....I think it's the one called "It's Called Foreshadowing".....whichever one lets you look at a player's battlehand and make them discard a monster.
Can Roy use the shtick on himself?
Examples of when you would want to:
- You want to lose your monsters so you can draw a fresh battlehand quicker (for more Screw This cards);
- You have a monster in your hand e.g.and you don't want to risk having to fight him;
Over-promise and under-deliver
-
2006-11-06, 11:13 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
You can take back all of the loot cards that you gave that player. The sentence at the end says "...you now owe them nothing for their assistance."
We play that the card prevents one wound. Another instance of taking more than one wound is the monsters' Deadly ability. This question is FAQ-worthy.Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-11-06, 11:15 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Owner of APE Games.
-
2006-11-07, 03:11 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2005
- Location
- San Francisco Bay Area
Re: Rules Questions
I have a few questions:
1. Conceptually, does a player's "loot pile" consist of only loot cards they have not equipped, or, both unequipped AND equipped loot? This matters because in some cases, a player is supposed to lose a loot from their "loot pile" randomly, and we wonder if this could include an equipped loot item.
2. If you face a flying monster, and all your Shticks are Range 0, can you still fight Shtickless? What if you are defending?
3. There is a monster which, before you attack it, causes you to Flip one of your Shticks at random. Are we correct in assuming that a) this only applies to your presently Unflipped Shticks (e.g., you do not include Flipped Shticks in the random selection - we know you can't unflip a flipped Shtick by flipping it again) and b) any Shtick can be so flipped, even if it is not normally a Shtick that you flip to use?
4. Still talking about that ability, what happens if your only possible mode of attack against that monster gets Flipped... so you can no longer attack it? Does combat continue anyway, or, can you "call off" your attack, assuming you were making a voluntary attack in the first place?
Thanks
-Lep
-
2006-11-07, 04:45 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2006
Re: Rules Questions
Can a shtick which normally doesn't get flipped be flipped?
Can you get 1 loot at the start of your turn, then draw two loot from resting?
You can move through rooms with monsters in them, but you can't move through empty rooms (since a monster will spawn that you have to fight.) Correct?
Durkon's W.W.T.D. shtick seems lame - it doesn't actually let draw more cards net, since you redraw whenever you're empty. Perhaps consider playing this as "Draw or Discard up to 3" ?
Can Durkon require players to give him Drool-worthy loot for healing, and have the promise kept? (or is there a chance for backstabbing?)
Thanks,
Ira