Results 241 to 270 of 619
Thread: Rules Questions
-
2007-01-16, 03:35 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jul 2005
- Location
Re: Rules Questions
2a doesn't seem legal. The card seems to indicate that healing occurs before the loot is handed over. The player being healed can verbally say they'll give you a Drool loot, and then give you something else.
Basically, in order,asks if he can heal
.
either says Yes or No. If
says yes, then
is healed.
then must hand
a loot card.
How I read it anyways.Wik
: Change of plans. Let's get involved.
: I just want to be clear on the rules here since I'm just a big dumb fighter.
: Well, I do feel more intimidating...
: Wow, that is such a stupid idea, I feel dumber just hearing it.
-
2007-01-17, 07:00 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2006
- Location
- England
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I have a couple of questions regarding the
shtick Gratuitous Nudity. If you play a Monster on yourself, do you have to close your own eyes? Also, what does it mean by saying that it counts as a match for the Hide shtick?
Treasurer of theFan Club. (And in desperate need of donations).
Afan before it was cool.
Probationary conscript of theFan Club.
78% of DM's started their first campaign in a tavern. If you're one of the 22% that didn't, copy and paste this into your signature.
-
2007-01-18, 04:01 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Yes, that's correct. Elan can tell Durkon that he's giving him Loot Durkon Drools Over, but he is not required to show Durkon that Loot, and he is not required to tell the truth. Even if he does show Durkon a Drool Loot, Elan can give Durkon any Loot in his hand when the deal is done. Basically, while Durkon can try to judge whether or not the players will lie to him, there's nothing preventing them from giving him whatever Loot they want.
Yup.
It means that it Boosts the Hide shtick. Earlier rules incarnations used the word "match" for "boost" and we forgot to change that one.
-
2007-01-19, 06:52 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2006
- Location
- England
- Gender
Treasurer of theFan Club. (And in desperate need of donations).
Afan before it was cool.
Probationary conscript of theFan Club.
78% of DM's started their first campaign in a tavern. If you're one of the 22% that didn't, copy and paste this into your signature.
-
2007-01-28, 12:11 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Some questions that have come up in my games:
1) The Eternal Gratitude card states to "Choose any one player that assisted you. You may keep the Loot Card that you originally offered to that player. You now owe them nothing for their assistance." I assume this means that, even if you were offering multiple pieces of loot to a player, you get to keep all of them (as opposed to just one)? Also, the card states to "choose one player". Can it be used on NPC Players as well as human ones?
2) If a player begins his or her turn in a room with monsters, and chooses not to move, does the top monster on the battle stack attack?
3) May players ask for assistance when performing ranged attacks?
4) If a player has defeated all the monsters in a room, may he continue fighting against a player (as if that player were a monster)?
5) When fleeing the dungeon, should players observe the effects of rooms that affect movement? For example, a fleeing player passes through a Dark Room. Does he have to stop there, or can he run though because he is fleeing?
Thanks!
-
2007-01-29, 01:38 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
Re: Rules Questions
I've had the Dungeons of Dorukan game for a few weeks now but only noticed that this forum existed, like, now (which is odd, because I'm sure I've looked at least once), so I'd like to apologize to The Giant for emailing him with questions about the board game instead of just posting them here.
But anyway:
1) There's no upper limit on the bonus that a single character can give you from assistance, right? So if I give NPC Vaarsuvius ten faces worth of loot I get a whopping +20 bonus for a battle?
2) The game manual says that you can equip or unequip loot at the beginning or end of your turn. Can you equip/unequip at the beginning AND end of your turn? It seems that if you can, the optimal loot strategy is to equip everything at the beginning of your turn, kick a lot of ass, immediately unequip everything at the end of your turn so that no one else can steal it from you, and repeat. After all, there are very few pieces of loot that are actually advantageous to have equipped during downtime, and you can just leave those on anyway. Is this how it's supposed to work?
-
2007-01-29, 08:58 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Owner of APE Games.
-
2007-01-29, 09:02 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Yes and Yes.
No, you attack the top monster, not the other way around. And this is not optional.
Yes.
No.
Yes, you still observe room effects. This is a good one for the FAQ.Owner of APE Games.
-
2007-01-29, 11:02 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2006
- Location
- England
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
If you are forced to miss a turn in a room with monsters, say from paralysis, do you still have to battle them after you missed your go?
Treasurer of theFan Club. (And in desperate need of donations).
Afan before it was cool.
Probationary conscript of theFan Club.
78% of DM's started their first campaign in a tavern. If you're one of the 22% that didn't, copy and paste this into your signature.
-
2007-01-29, 01:41 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
You don't need to battle the monster on the turn that you missed while being paralyzed. On your next turn, after your through being paralyzed, you are still not forced to attack that monster - you can always move out of the room. If you stay in the room, though, you must attack that monster.
Owner of APE Games.
-
2007-01-31, 11:00 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
If you have no Loot equipped, a player attacking you can draw a Loot from your Loot Stash--and generally speaking, Loot with equipped abilities do not provide as many Drool Icons as some other Loot. So, if you want to unequip your 1-Drool Loot with a special ability in return for risking that the player might pull that 3-Drool Loot you collected out of your stash, then hey, that's your decision.
Not to mention that Loot that boosts your Battle Shticks (like the Starmetal Chunk) or your Attack/Defense in player battles (Like the Snacks) won't help you fend off an angry Belkar if they're not equipped.
-
2007-01-31, 09:36 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Well, the thing is this:
1) Your loot stash won't, unless you're doing really awesome, soley contain your own loot. Sure, someone attacking me when I'm Vaarsuvius stands to steal my Ultimate Arcane Power, but he also stands to steal my Stepladder.
2) You don't have to unequip everything. Like, let's say I'm Roy. I definitely unequip the Starmetal Chunk and Glory, because those are critical to my ability to kill like eighty monsters at a time. But at the same time, I can just leave my "Gauntlets of Ogre Stench" or some other crappy one-face loot on, so anyone who attacks me has to take away that while leaving me with all the items that actually manner.
Not to mention that Loot that boosts your Battle Shticks (like the Starmetal Chunk) or your Attack/Defense in player battles (Like the Snacks) won't help you fend off an angry Belkar if they're not equipped.
-
2007-02-03, 09:33 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2005
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
First of all, the OOTS adventure game is great! Me and my D&D buddies had a great time.
One rules question came up, though: which loot cards can be exchanged for a schtick? For example, if I'm Roy, can I exchange a card with two Elan faces and one Roy face for a schtick, or can I only use a card with three Roy faces? And can I also use a card with three OOTS logos for this?
-
2007-02-04, 12:21 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
- North Dallas,TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
You must exchange three of your character's icons worth of loot to get a new schtick, i.e. if you are roy you need 3 roy faces worth of loot that can be divided between multiple loot cards, such as 3 simple "thank you"s or maybe just your dad's approval. the Order of the stick symbol counts as a face for every member of the order, so comedy gold is an automatic schtick for anyone.
"Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer
I'm whitey, and I appologize!
-
2007-02-04, 04:46 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2005
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Ah, okay, I thought they had to be on a single card. That's why the wording confused me. Thanks.
-
2007-02-04, 03:05 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I'm not going to argue with you. If you're dead set to play the game that way, I'm not going to stop you. As apegamer says, though, it's not really in keeping with the spirit of it. You are interpreting the rule correctly, however.
You must exchange 1-3 cards with a total of 3 or more of your faces distributed among them (minimum of 1 of your faces per card).
So, Roy can turn in any of the following sets:
--Roy, Roy, Roy (3 cards)
--Roy, Roy/Roy (2 cards)
--Roy/Roy/Roy (1 card)
--Roy, Roy/Durkon, Roy/Vaarsuvius (3 cards)
--Roy/Durkon, Roy/Roy (2 cards)
--Roy/Roy, Roy/Roy/Belkar (2 cards. Note that you are actually turning in 4 Roy faces, but there's no "change")
--Roy, Roy, Roy/Elan (3 cards)
--Roy/Roy, Roy/Haley (2 cards)
and so on and so forth.
EDIT: Completely screwed this up before, but the above infomration is now correct.
-
2007-02-04, 05:50 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
- North Dallas,TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
um...I am going to have to question that last part on your response, Giant.
1) I can't find anywhere in the rulebook that mentions that the loot you trade for schticks can't have other players faces on them, just that you have to trade loot that you drool over and have a combined drool factor of 3 (relative to you)
2) That way of playing would seem to make cards like the Dragon Hoard and Comedy Gold far less useful, as then you can only trade them in battle for help, but you can't trade them for schticks as they are drooled over by everyone, so you always have another player that wants it. Also, in a six player game you would barely ever be able to trade loot for schticks, as most loot is drooled on by multiple characters. I can understand not being able to give loot that a player wants to an NPC for help in battle, but not trading it for schticks hurts a lot, especially Durkon and Elan, who rely on loot for schticks more than the other characters.
Normally I would not question your word, but this seemed to big not too.
you changed your answer, so there is no reason for this post anymore...Last edited by Kumquat; 2007-02-07 at 02:00 PM.
"Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer
I'm whitey, and I appologize!
-
2007-02-05, 03:12 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
Re: Rules Questions
Oh, don't get me wrong, I definitely don't want to play the game that way. I'd rather that someone who equips monster-hunting loot risk losing it in the normal fashion.
I was just unsure whether you were contradicting Apegamer's suggestion of a "you can't unequip loot that you equipped this turn" rule because you thought that someone cheesily putting on/taking off loot turn by turn wasn't a problem. Thanks for the response!
-
2007-02-05, 03:17 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2004
- Location
- Belgium, Europe
Re: Rules Questions
I also don't remember reading the "trading loot for shticks" restriction the Giant mentions...
However, such a restriction doesn't seem illogical if you take the "trading loot for assistance" rules into account.
@ Kumquat: I would treat the OotS logo on Comedy Gold and Dragon Hoard as wildcards: If you trade them in for shticks, they represent only your own drool icons.
Enaloindir
-
2007-02-05, 03:27 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Philadelphia, PA
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
OK, yes, I screwed up.
I combined in my head the rules for offering Loot to NPCs with the rules for trading Loot for shticks. You can't trade Loot to NPCs if it is also drooled over by another player, but you CAN trade it for shticks. I think we had it that way in a previous version of the rules, and then dropped it at the last minute because it hurt Elan and Durkon (the primary users of the loot-for-shticks rule) too much.
I'll change my previous answer.
-
2007-02-11, 05:38 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2006
- Location
- England
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I have a couple of questions regarding asking NPCs for assistance. The rules say that you can't other them Loot that is Drooled over by an active player. Well, does this include Loot that everyone Drools over? Also, can you offer NPCs Loot that has your face on it?
Treasurer of theFan Club. (And in desperate need of donations).
Afan before it was cool.
Probationary conscript of theFan Club.
78% of DM's started their first campaign in a tavern. If you're one of the 22% that didn't, copy and paste this into your signature.
-
2007-02-12, 12:18 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2006
- Location
- Virandia, Solaris IV
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
I don't think you could offer them loot that everyone drools over, and I'm not sure about the second question... but my instincts tell me that I'd allow it (since you can't give yourself the loot you drool over for a boost).
I could be wrong though... I'm totally going off of what I think would make sense... but if you can't, then it makes that loot far less valuable in said situation (at least as far as assistance is concerned).-Edgar Verona
Paladin, Philosopher, Programmer
R.I.P
Eye of Fear and Flame
422 - 469
We still miss you bro.
-
2007-02-12, 01:50 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
- North Dallas,TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
no, you can't offer Order Icon loot (the ones everyone wants) because there is always another player that wants it. Yes, you can offer loot to an NPC if you are the only other character that drools over it.
"Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer
I'm whitey, and I appologize!
-
2007-02-12, 08:43 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Owner of APE Games.
-
2007-02-13, 10:50 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
Re: Rules Questions
I'd swear this has been clarified somewhere earlier in this thread, but I can't find it:
If Belkar has Jump Attack and he makes a ranged attack on another player with his Twin Daggers of Doom, does he get to collect (or lose) loot at the end of the battle as though the fight were conducted at Range 0?
-
2007-02-14, 03:26 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2004
- Location
- Belgium, Europe
Re: Rules Questions
The question was brought up by Khanthal, and a first answer was given by Arcade. The final answer, contradicting Arcade, came from apegamer.
I also have a question regarding the "up a level, down a level" Screw This! card. It says you pick one player who does not get to put a shtick into play. Does this mean the player who plays the card can also put a shtick into play?
There's also another Screw This! card (I think it's "scream like a little girl", or something to that effect), where you can ask any player for assistance. While it would seem illogical to assist yourself, the card text does not seem to prevent this...
Enaloindir
-
2007-02-14, 09:21 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- Houston, TX
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Owner of APE Games.
-
2007-02-14, 12:01 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Sep 2006
- Location
- Ottawa,Ontario
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Unless I'm reading it wrong, I came to the same conclusion that Apegamer did. Belkar attacks at range and then moves into the room after the attack is resolved. He can then take a loot from the player if he won the attack. If I am reading it wrong, then someone please correct me.
I'm wrong enough the rest of the time that I can have self doubts here. :)Arcade
-
2007-02-16, 04:56 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2006
- Location
- England
- Gender
Re: Rules Questions
Treasurer of theFan Club. (And in desperate need of donations).
Afan before it was cool.
Probationary conscript of theFan Club.
78% of DM's started their first campaign in a tavern. If you're one of the 22% that didn't, copy and paste this into your signature.
-
2007-02-18, 10:25 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Dec 2006