Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Frosty's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default [3.5 ToB] Can you use a Counter if Flat-footed?

    In the beginning of combat, if you lose initiative and hasn't had a chance to act yet, I know you can't use an Immediate action to initiate a Counter (or to do much else). However, if it were in the middle of the battle, and you were made Flat-Footed via a spell like Distract Assailat, then can you still make Counters for the rest of the round until your next turn?

    For example, a Beguiler casts Distract Assailant on a Warblade. The Warblade fails the save and is now Flat-Footed. Someone else now forces the Warblade to make a Will Save. Can the Warblade use Moment of Perfect Mind at this time?

    If someone could cite me a surce and page number for the answer I'd appreciate that as well.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Khatoblepas's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    England

    Default Re: [3.5 ToB] Can you use a Counter if Flat-footed?

    I don't believe so, as you can't use immediate actions while flat footed. Somewhere in the SRD it says:

    Quote Originally Posted by http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/actionsincombat.htm
    You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Surgebinder in the Playground Moderator
     
    Douglas's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Mountain View, CA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [3.5 ToB] Can you use a Counter if Flat-footed?

    If you are flat-footed, then you cannot take immediate actions regardless of the reason for your flat-footed status. Just check and make sure the effect actually makes you flat-footed rather than just denying dex bonus to AC.

    It gets a bit more questionable if you are using Stance of Alacrity and the counter you want to use would thus take no action rather than an immediate action.
    Like 4X (aka Civilization-like) gaming? Know programming? Interested in game development? Take a look.

    Avatar by Ceika.

    Archives:
    Spoiler
    Show
    Saberhagen's Twelve Swords, some homebrew artifacts for 3.5 (please comment)
    Isstinen Tonche for ECL 74 playtesting.
    Team Solars: Powergaming beyond your wildest imagining, without infinite loops or epic. Yes, the DM asked for it.
    Arcane Swordsage: Making it actually work (homebrew)

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Frosty's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default Re: [3.5 ToB] Can you use a Counter if Flat-footed?

    Terrific. Where does it say you can't take Immediate actions while flat-footed?

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Attilargh's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [3.5 ToB] Can you use a Counter if Flat-footed?

    Second paragraoh of page 45 of the Tome of Battle.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Orc in the Playground
     
    mikej's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Niagara Falls, Ont
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [3.5 ToB] Can you use a Counter if Flat-footed?

    Quote Originally Posted by Frosty View Post
    Terrific. Where does it say you can't take Immediate actions while flat-footed?
    I second the check to see if that effect makes you flat-footed or not, anyways a little snip from SRD

    D20 SRD: Here
    You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.
    mikej

    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by Smiling Knight View Post
    Just to save time:

    Giacomo: Monks are as strong as wizards with UMD and partially charged wands.

    [Respected forum members]: No they are not.

    Giacomo: Yes they are. You all just abuse the rules.

    [Rfm]: No u

    G: No u

    Repeat until someone challenges G to duel, which then never happens.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Frosty's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default Re: [3.5 ToB] Can you use a Counter if Flat-footed?

    Thanks you Attilargh.

    Mikej, Distract Assailant from the Spell Compendium does indeed say the target is flat-footed until the beginning of its next turn. Very useful if you have a rogue buddy.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2007

    Default Re: [3.5 ToB] Can you use a Counter if Flat-footed?

    Also great for the Beguiler's Cloaked Casting.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •