Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Librarian in the Playground Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Gender
    Male

    Default [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Ok, we had a discussion about this (before I decided to go with my Warlord to replace the late St. Hecar... it was our cleric of Bahamut who titled him that): If you have a magical thrown weapon, and a ranged power that affects multiple people, do you use the magical weapon on all attack rolls, or just on one of them?

    The conclusion we reached (though, again, it didn't wind up mattering for that build) is that you DO get to use it on every attack roll. Our reasoning was simple: The other answer is dumb. It means that high-level rogues have to carry multiple magical throwing weapons to get the effects of their powers, especially if they're a throwy rogue, something that isn't even implied, and makes those builds prohibitively expensive. The other answer (that you throw one weapon, and it either hits everyone or flies back into your hand for a machine-gun effect), doesn't make as much sense, but at least it doesn't make a core build useless.

    Oh, and the quote in my sig? The new one? That happened a couple weeks ago, and I felt the need to share.
    The Cranky Gamer
    *It isn't realism, it's verisimilitude; the appearance of truth within the framework of the game.
    *Picard management tip: Debate honestly. The goal is to arrive at the truth, not at your preconception.
    *Two Tales of Tellene, available from DriveThruFiction
    *The One Deck Engine: Gaming on a budget
    Avatar is from local user Mehangel
    Written by Me on DriveThru RPG
    If you need me to address a thread as a moderator, include a link.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    I imagine it comes back after each throw. Of course, depending on the ability, it may split in mid air.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Orc in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    It says that it comes back after the attack is resolved. So I would not allow a single magical dagger to be used to attack mutliple targets with a single power. However you could get shuriken and enchant them 5 at a time to solve this problem.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mikeejimbo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Quote Originally Posted by fractic View Post
    It says that it comes back after the attack is resolved. So I would not allow a single magical dagger to be used to attack mutliple targets with a single power. However you could get shuriken and enchant them 5 at a time to solve this problem.
    That's how I read it, too. I thought that you weren't supposed to be able to be a throwing-dagger rogue with any effectiveness.
    Thanks to zegma for my awesome avatar.
    Proudly the founder of the Mr. Scruffy fanclub.
    We will not let Nessie down! http://www.petitiononline.com/PLEAOSAR/
    My DMs' Guild Stuff

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Colossus in the Playground
     
    hamishspence's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    What about that bracer in Adventuer's Vault that creates magic daggers?

    Since it says "a dagger created disappears at the end of your turn" I figure that if you have Quick Draw and this bracer of infinite blades, you can use daggers in blast powers, etc.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Draz74's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Utah
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Hall View Post
    Ok, we had a discussion about this (before I decided to go with my Warlord to replace the late St. Hecar... it was our cleric of Bahamut who titled him that): If you have a magical thrown weapon, and a ranged power that affects multiple people, do you use the magical weapon on all attack rolls, or just on one of them?

    The conclusion we reached (though, again, it didn't wind up mattering for that build) is that you DO get to use it on every attack roll. Our reasoning was simple: The other answer is dumb. It means that high-level rogues have to carry multiple magical throwing weapons to get the effects of their powers, especially if they're a throwy rogue, something that isn't even implied, and makes those builds prohibitively expensive. The other answer (that you throw one weapon, and it either hits everyone or flies back into your hand for a machine-gun effect), doesn't make as much sense, but at least it doesn't make a core build useless.
    Based on the Gamist philosophy of 4e, I'd say your reasoning is very sound. Personally, I'd fluff it as the weapon ricocheting or splitting, rather than bouncing back to your hand multiple times in one attack.
    Last edited by Draz74; 2008-12-12 at 05:16 PM.
    You can call me Draz.
    Trophies:
    Spoiler
    Show

    Also of note:

    I have a number of ongoing projects that I manically jump between to spend my free time ... so don't be surprised when I post a lot about something for a few days, then burn out and abandon it.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yuki Akuma's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The Land of Angles

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    The book says you need one weapon for each target. So, no, you do not get to use your uber magic dagger against every target.
    There's no wrong way to play. - S. John Ross

    Quote Originally Posted by archaeo View Post
    Man, this is just one of those things you see and realize, "I live in a weird and banal future."

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Planetar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Quote Originally Posted by Yuki_Akuma View Post
    The book says you need one weapon for each target. So, no, you do not get to use your uber magic dagger against every target.
    Page reference?

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Librarian in the Playground Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Quote Originally Posted by Yuki_Akuma View Post
    The book says you need one weapon for each target. So, no, you do not get to use your uber magic dagger against every target.
    "Where?" would be my question; I didn't locate it while looking.
    Last edited by Mark Hall; 2008-12-12 at 06:08 PM.
    The Cranky Gamer
    *It isn't realism, it's verisimilitude; the appearance of truth within the framework of the game.
    *Picard management tip: Debate honestly. The goal is to arrive at the truth, not at your preconception.
    *Two Tales of Tellene, available from DriveThruFiction
    *The One Deck Engine: Gaming on a budget
    Avatar is from local user Mehangel
    Written by Me on DriveThru RPG
    If you need me to address a thread as a moderator, include a link.

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Colossus in the Playground
     
    hamishspence's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Page 270 PHB: Ranged attack box- one thrown weapon or piece of ammunition for each target.

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Lizardfolk

    Join Date
    Nov 2007

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Common sense would indicate 1 thrown magic weapon hits 1 target. If you want multiple thrown magic weapons, get multiple thrown magic weapons. This seems a sane and secure way to prevent someone from flinging greatswords.

    On the same note, does anyone know if rules for kabers exist in D&D? I kind of just had an idea.

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2008

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Do you mean these kabers?

    The event is similar but not identical to the Sheep Toss, where the goal is to get the aforementioned sheep to throw up and have the spew be aligned like the hand of a clock as close to 12:00 as possible in relation to the athlete (known traditionally as the "Shaker" or the "Tickler" depending on his chosen form).
    Last edited by Tacoma; 2008-12-12 at 06:40 PM.

  13. - Top - End - #13
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Oracle_Hunter's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    It's getting to the point that whenever someone says "common sense" I start getting nervous. Perhaps I've been on the Internet too long

    OK, some quotes
    Quote Originally Posted by PHB 232
    Thrown Weapons: Any magic light thrown or heavy thrown weapon, from the lowly +1 shuriken to a +6 perfect hunterís spear, automatically returns to its wielderís hand after a ranged attack with the weapon is resolved.
    Quote Originally Posted by PHB 270
    Targeted: Ranged attacks target individuals.

    A ranged attack against multiple enemies consists of separate attacks, each with its own attack roll and damage roll. Ranged attacks donít create areas of effect (page 272).

    If youíre using a projectile weapon to make a ranged attack against multiple targets, you need one piece of ammunition for each target, and if youíre using thrown weapons, you need one for each target.
    Emphasis mine.

    This shows us that you only need one dagger.

    When attacking multiple targets with a magic dagger, you make a series of individual ("separate") attacks. After each individual attack, the dagger returns to the wielder's hand, giving the attacker a dagger to use against a new target.

    The text about needing a thrown weapon for each target is merely to clarify that someone with a single non-magical dagger cannot hit 5 people, the same way someone with a bow cannot shoot 5 people with a single non-magical arrow. Since the attacker with the magical dagger always has one at hand, he will have sufficient daggers for any number of targets.
    Last edited by Oracle_Hunter; 2008-12-12 at 06:44 PM.
    Lead Designer for Oracle Hunter Games
    Today a Blog, Tomorrow a Business!


    ~ Awesome Avatar by the phantastic Phase ~
    Spoiler
    Show

    Elflad

  14. - Top - End - #14
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2008

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Quote Originally Posted by Oracle_Hunter View Post
    It's getting to the point that whenever someone says "common sense" I start getting nervous. Perhaps I've been on the Internet too long
    It's justified in this case I think.

  15. - Top - End - #15
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Oracle_Hunter's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Quote Originally Posted by Tacoma View Post
    It's justified in this case I think.
    But he was wrong, as my post points out. Unless you have a different interpretation of the quoted text?
    Lead Designer for Oracle Hunter Games
    Today a Blog, Tomorrow a Business!


    ~ Awesome Avatar by the phantastic Phase ~
    Spoiler
    Show

    Elflad

  16. - Top - End - #16
    Colossus in the Playground
     
    hamishspence's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    that bracer seems designed to get around the limitation. Which raises quest- why have it, if a +2 dagger will do the same thing as the bracer but is much much cheaper?

    "If you're using a thrown weapon" doesn't explicitly say "non-magical" so, with both "one for each target" and "after a ranged attack is resolved"

    (remember it can have multiple targets and item(s) doesn't return to hand until every target has been attacked)

    you get the net result- magic daggers don't return to hand until end of the multi-target-hitting attack, so either it ricochets from target to target, or, you need multiple daggers.

  17. - Top - End - #17
    Colossus in the Playground
     
    hamishspence's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    I think it might have been errataed to clarify the issue, but am not sure. Quick Draw is also relevant- to throw all the daggers as one Power.

  18. - Top - End - #18
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    EvilClericGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Quote Originally Posted by FAQ
    14. I am using a magical thrown weapon as part of an area of effect power. If I am attacking multiple enemies within that area, do I need multiple weapons, or will one suffice?

    One is enough in this case. Magical thrown weapons return to you after each attack, so youíll be able to use it against each enemy as part of using your power.
    PHB FAQ

    Oracle Hunter is correct.

  19. - Top - End - #19
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Kurald Galain's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Quote Originally Posted by Oracle_Hunter View Post
    But he was wrong, as my post points out. Unless you have a different interpretation of the quoted text?
    While your interpretation is correct, this does seem to be a case where the proverbial left hand of the design team didn't know what the right hand was doing, since by RAW there really is no point in those bracers-of-infinite-daggers as printed in the AV, several months after the PHB went live.
    Guide to the Magus, the Pathfinder Gish class.

    "I would really like to see a game made by Obryn, Kurald Galain, and Knaight from these forums. I'm not joking one bit. I would buy the hell out of that." -- ChubbyRain
    Crystal Shard Studios - Freeware games designed by Kurald and others!

  20. - Top - End - #20
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Quote Originally Posted by Kurald Galain View Post
    While your interpretation is correct, this does seem to be a case where the proverbial left hand of the design team didn't know what the right hand was doing, since by RAW there really is no point in those bracers-of-infinite-daggers as printed in the AV, several months after the PHB went live.
    Depending on the DM anyways. Some DMs may be uncomfortable with a single magic dagger being used for multiple attacks in a round.

  21. - Top - End - #21
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Lizardfolk

    Join Date
    Nov 2007

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Huh. I was wrong. This makes my enchanted caber even more awesome.

  22. - Top - End - #22
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Oracle_Hunter's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Quote Originally Posted by Kurald Galain View Post
    While your interpretation is correct, this does seem to be a case where the proverbial left hand of the design team didn't know what the right hand was doing, since by RAW there really is no point in those bracers-of-infinite-daggers as printed in the AV, several months after the PHB went live.
    I've always visualized WotC as a kind of Hecatonchires-like entity, except that none of the fifty heads can communicate with the other

    I mean, look at the Titanium Dragon's review of Adventurer's Vault. Whoever wrote half that book had clearly never played a game of 4E.
    Lead Designer for Oracle Hunter Games
    Today a Blog, Tomorrow a Business!


    ~ Awesome Avatar by the phantastic Phase ~
    Spoiler
    Show

    Elflad

  23. - Top - End - #23
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Grynning's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [4e] Thrown Magic Weapons

    Quote Originally Posted by Doomsy View Post
    Huh. I was wrong. This makes my enchanted caber even more awesome.
    While it would be nigh-impossible to use an actual caber as a weapon, you could make up a kind of "Battle Caber," a shortened, weighted version meant for hurtin folk...

    Battle Caber - Superior weapon

    Prof. +2; Damage d12; Mace; Heavy Thrown, Brutal 2, Reach

    Special: Cabers are very large and unwieldy if used in melee. You do not receive the proficiency bonus for using a Battle Caber as a melee weapon, even if you have the Weapon Proficiency: Battle Caber feat.
    My friend and I have a blog, we write D&D stuff there: http://forgotmydice.com/



    Comedian avatar by The_Stoney_One

    A Guide to Commonly Misunderstood 5th Edition Rules

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •