New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Ogre in the Playground

Default Breaking the game. Why?

Right off the bat, I have to say Im new to D&D, having been introduced to it by Mikela and this board. One of the things I see in recruitment threads and in games is an attempt to break the game, and for the life of me, I dont understand why someone would do that. I mean, its almost a non-verbal way of saying "I hate D&D and I'm not going to let you play either". Its completely rude to people who work at making playable PCs, and its rude to the DM who has worked hard to figure out an interesting story line, and you just want to trash it completely by making nothing able to challenge your character. It never ends up well, the game is doomed to end after 2-3 pages and it just makes for hard feelings all around. What is the attraction? Sure, you want to be strong, but you know damn well when you are crossing the line and still people do it?
    The problem here is between the keyboard and the chair.

Life is full of questions. Chocolate is the answer.

Thanks to Telasi for the custom avatar.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Banned

Default Re: Breaking the game. Why?

I have a friend who LOVES to break a game any chance he gets. He immidiately sells his soul for power, he throws any train of its tracks, and almost no DM can handle him well becuase he's probably insane. He does it becuase this is his entertainment, and this is the way he likes to do things. The only way to keep him from doing it is to shut him down the moment he tries anything. He does it... because we let him :/.

3. - Top - End - #3
    Ogre in the Playground

People are selfish and will only think of themselves unless moved by social pressure, manipulation or empathy for their fellows. Fail to procure any of these and you will end up with someone who breaks the game to feel superior to everyone else and "win" the game.