New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Lostintransit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Here.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Candle of Invocation

    Okay people, stupid question Time!

    Does the +2 caster levels for preping spells stack?

    I'm planning on playing a 13th level cleric tomorrow and I was pondering a couple of Candles to bumb up my level to 19th to get access to 9th spells to kill the insane uber Bad dudes we have to fight!



    Regards

    Lost

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Gavin Sage's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007

    Default Re: Candle of Invocation

    Generally speaking bonuses from the same source do not stack. And since it makes that item even more cheese ridden I'd say no or hope that's all the Candles your getting ever.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Titan in the Playground
     
    BlueWizardGirl

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada

    Default Re: Candle of Invocation

    It's not a named bonus of any kind, but it depends on how you read the phrase operates as if two levels higher for purposes of determining spells per day. The question is, two levels higher than what? If it's "two levels higher than his actual level", the candles' effects won't stack. If it's "two levels higher than his current effective caster level"...then an already powerful item gets even more stupidly abusable.

    As a DM, I'd definitely house rule that the effects of multiple candles don't stack. But then, if you can afford multiple candles, just gate in some Solars and get them to help you out.
    "We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful about what we pretend to be." Kurt Vonnegut

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location

    Default Re: Candle of Invocation

    No, and you are better off gating in a balor anyway :p

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Jasdoif's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oregon, USA

    Default Re: Candle of Invocation

    It's the same magical bonus from the same source. It doesn't stack unless its entry says it stacks, which it doesn't.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Lostintransit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Here.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Candle of Invocation

    Quote Originally Posted by Toliudar View Post
    It's not a named bonus of any kind, but it depends on how you read the phrase operates as if two levels higher for purposes of determining spells per day. The question is, two levels higher than what? If it's "two levels higher than his actual level", the candles' effects won't stack. If it's "two levels higher than his current effective caster level"...then an already powerful item gets even more stupidly abusable.

    As a DM, I'd definitely house rule that the effects of multiple candles don't stack. But then, if you can afford multiple candles, just gate in some Solars and get them to help you out.
    Well the way I read it was that it gave you an effective +2 boost on your level. So 2 candles would give +4 etc. Also I can't gate in any creatures because my GM has effectivley banned the gate spell.

    If it doesn't stack It's not that much of a problem as 15th level caster still lets me have 8th level spells.



    Regards

    Lost

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location

    Default Re: Candle of Invocation

    What you can do is get one candle of invocation and one incense of mediation. You will get maximized 8th level spells.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Lostintransit's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Here.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Candle of Invocation

    Quote Originally Posted by PinkysBrain View Post
    What you can do is get one candle of invocation and one incense of mediation. You will get maximized 8th level spells.
    Thats a good idea! Any idea on items and spell list? I'm 13th level.


    Regards

    Lost

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •