New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 17 1234567891011 ... LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground

HalflingRogueGuy

Default "Power gamer" hate?

Disclaimer: I am relatively new to pen & paper RPGs, having played about two dozen sessions of 5E, total, in three different groups, although most of those are with my current group. That said, I invest a lot of "off-time" in the hobby, in reading theorycraft, designing characters, forum lurking, etc. (but I am not claiming to be an expert).

Also, this isn't intended to be a dig at "non-power gamers" disguised as a question, I am honestly curious if I am the only person who has observed this, and I'd like the opinions of more experienced gamers.

Definition: I understand "power gamer" or "munchkin" to mean someone that spends what others judge to be an inordinate amount of time optimizing their character, usually to maximize damage output in combat, while ignoring other aspects of the game - although I've noticed there are those who basically look down their nose at anyone who likes high damage in combat.

Background: I get enjoyment out of the process of building and optimizing characters. I like the game, and I like to make characters who are useful at at least one thing. I've played a grand total of 3 characters, but drawn-up probably close to 30 - not just rolling stats, but full character concepts, concise but comprehensive backstories - the whole nine. Maximizing damage is not my only concern, but unless I'm specifically trying to create a more dedicated support character, it is a strong consideration.