New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Ogre in the Playground

Default My Problem Players - Please help.

Yup, another one of those threads.

So, I've been playing D&D now for a few years, and my first group was great. Polite, respectful, good amount of RP. Awesome. And I still have that group going, only I have started another group with some more friends of mine. Its been going on for a few months now, the DM chairs have alternated, and I am now back in the seat. I have dealt (or rather, have tried to ignore) with the problem players for all this time, but am seriously considering just leaving the group, but would rather go for an enjoyable game than no-game at all (fix the problem rather than run from it). I'll just refer to the problem players as player's A, B, and C. Also note that I'm not having trouble with everyone, as I have been able to get a couple players from my old group in, to help influance an enjoyable game.

Player A: Player A is a total distraction at all times. If it isnt his turn in combat, hes probally on my computer doing whatever, or something else entirely. He slows the game down constantly by doing this. I know the obvious awnser would be to shut down my computer during sessions, but I sometimes like to play some music during games through it. And even if it was off, I'm sure he would just turn it on anyway. I'm not a very confrontational person. Also, another problem with Player A is that he can never seem to keep intrest with a character for long. He has already essentially killed himself TWICE within the past 5 sessions so he could role up another character.